An Unsuitable Marriage

An emotional page turner, perfect for fans of Hilary Boyd

Author: Colette Dartford

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 1499861702

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 5437

DOWNLOAD NOW »
Husbands and wives, mothers and sons, love and betrayal - perfect for fans of Joanna Trollope and Hilary Boyd Could your marriage survive the ultimate betrayal? A sharp and emotional novel of a family under pressure, perfect for fans of Joanna Trollope and Hilary Boyd. Olivia had everything - a loving husband in Geoffrey, a thoughtful and intelligent son in Edward and a beautiful home in the Somerset countryside. But all that changed when Geoffrey's business went under. Now penniless and homeless, Geoffrey is living with his recently widowed mother, whilst Olivia has been forced to work as a housemistress at her son's elite boarding school. With their marriage under intolerable strain, Geoffrey makes a mistake - one that has devastating consequences for the guilty and innocent alike . . . 'This smart and emotional family drama will grab you from its shocking first few opening lines, and keep you enthralled to the very end. Clear a Sunday and devour it' Heat magazine 'A moving dissection of a marriage under unbearable pressure, set in rural Somerset: an 'Aga saga' for our times' The Lady 'A moving and engaging debut novel . . . shortens the dark nights' Santa Montefiore, on Learning to Speak American 'A heartrending story, well-told, about coping with unimaginable loss. Dartford evokes strong, sympathetic characters while writing fluently and from the heart. I raced through it.' Hilary Boyd, on Learning to Speak American

Learning to Speak American

A life-affirming story of starting again

Author: Colette Dartford

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 1499861907

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 5518

DOWNLOAD NOW »
Can a house renovation in the gorgeous Napa Valley let two bereaved parents learn to love again? A moving and engaging debut novel . . . shortens the dark nights' Santa Montefiore. An emotional and uplifting story of starting again, perfect for fans of Hilary Boyd and The Tea Planter's Wife. Having suffered in silence since the tragic death of their young daughter, Lola and Duncan Drummond's last chance to rediscover their love for one another lies in an anniversary holiday to the gorgeous Napa Valley. Unable to talk about what happened, Duncan reaches out to his wife the only way he knows how - he buys her a derelict house, the restoration of which might just restore their relationship. As Lola works on the house she begins to realise the liberating power of letting go. But just as she begins to open up, Duncan's life begins to fall apart. After all the heartbreak, can Lola and Duncan learn to love again? 'A heartrending story, well-told, about coping with unimaginable loss. Dartford evokes strong, sympathetic characters while writing fluently and from the heart. I raced through it.' Hilary Boyd, author of Thursdays in the Park 'A beautiful read, lyrically written, poignant and emotional' - Nicola Cornick, internationally bestselling author of House of Shadows 'Does everything a good book should do; it made me smile, it made me cry, it taught me lessons about life and love I didn't know before' - Claire Dyer, author of The Moment

The Lavender House

Author: Hilary Boyd

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9781784294144

Category: Fiction

Page: 432

View: 6030

DOWNLOAD NOW »
Emotional, page-turning women's fiction from the author of #1 EBOOK BESTSELLER, THURSDAYS IN THE PARK. Beautiful storytelling for fans of Erica James, Veronica Henry and Harriet Evans. 'Boyd is as canny as Joanna Trollope at observing family life - and better than Trollope at jokes' Daily Mail Nancy de Freitas is the glue that holds her family together. Caught between her ageing, ailing mother Frances, and her struggling daughter Louise, frequent user of Nancy's babysitting services, it seems Nancy's fate is to quietly go on shouldering the burden of responsibility for all four generations. Her divorce four years ago put paid to any thoughts of a partner to share her later years with. Now it looks like her family is all she has. Then she meets Jim. Smoker, drinker, unsuccessful country singer and wearer of cowboy boots, he should be completely unsuited to the very together Nancy. And yet, there is a real spark. But Nancy's family don't trust Jim one bit. They're convinced he'll break her heart, maybe run off with her money - he certainly distracts her from her family responsibilities. Can she be brave enough to follow her heart? Or will she remain glued to her family's side and walk away from one last chance for love?

The French Perfumer

Author: Amanda Hampson

Publisher: Penguin UK

ISBN: 174377222X

Category: Fiction

Page: 96

View: 9089

DOWNLOAD NOW »
'Shorthand typist required by English speaker in the South of France. Live-in, full board plus salary commensurate with experience.' Iris Turner, an unworldly young Englishwoman, arrives in the French Riviera to take up a secretarial role for the mysterious Hammond Brooke. Living in a small, exclusive hotel among eccentric and unpredictable aristocrats and struggling to gain her employer's trust, she soon realises that nothing is as it seems. Initiated into the mysterious world of perfume, she finds herself entangled in a web of intrigue and deception. Gradually discovering the truth, she gains a new understanding of the meaning of love, loyalty and betrayal. By the bestselling author of The Olive Sisters, this is a captivating and evocative novel full of surprising twists and turns. 'Hampson has created a vivid world and colourful characters ... a tale with verve, sharp observations and humour.' Sarah Turnbull, author of Almost French

"O" is for Outlaw

Author: Sue Grafton

Publisher: Macmillan

ISBN: 9780805059557

Category: Fiction

Page: 318

View: 1789

DOWNLOAD NOW »
Private detective Kinsey Millhone finds her past coming back to haunt her when an encounter with her first husband and a mysterious undelivered letter discovered among her childhood memorabilia reveal new information about an old unsolved murder. 500,000 first printing. Lit Guild, Doubleday, & Mystery Guild Main.

Thursdays in the Park

Author: Hilary Boyd

Publisher: Quercus

ISBN: 162365095X

Category: Fiction

Page: 336

View: 8508

DOWNLOAD NOW »
Called "a warm and well-written case for love affairs in later life" (Daily Telegraph), Thursdays in the Park was a runaway best-seller in the united Kingdom. Boyd's debut novel is a touching, romantic tale of new attraction and old loyalties. Jeanie is on the brink of turning sixty, and the man she's been married to for more than half of her life has suddenly abandoned the marital bed. When Jeanie's husband George retreats from his conjugal duties, she is deeply hurt and very confused: Has she done something wrong? Is he in love with someone else? Her pained bewilderment turns to anger as he remains unable, or unwilling, to provide answers. The bright spot of Jeanie's week is Thursday, the day she takes her granddaughter to the park. There, one day, she meets Ray--age-appropriate, kind-hearted, easygoing, and downright sexy. In short, he is everything that George is not. As her relationship with Ray begins to blossom and she begins to think that her life might hold in store a bold second act, she begins to wonder if she has the courage to take a step off the precipice of routine and duty and into the swirling winds of romance. From the Trade Paperback edition.

A Perfect Husband

Author: Hilary Boyd

Publisher: Quercus

ISBN: 1635060133

Category: Fiction

Page: 480

View: 1638

DOWNLOAD NOW »
Lily and Freddy have a wonderful relationship, full of passion and joy. Freddy taught her to love again after the death of her father. But then Freddy becomes tense, snappy and distracted. Is he having an affair? The truth turns out to be much worse. Freddy is addicted to gambling. He owes hundreds of thousands of pounds to loan companies; he's been helping himself to money from his own company, which has now gone bust; and worst of all, his wife's money-- given to him to invest--is gone. Devastated, Lily leaves him, and moves to stay with her sister in Oxford. There, among the dreaming spires, she will clear her head of Freddy and try to figure out how to move on. But being away from Freddy is far harder than she'd thought. He promises to get help, but can he really ever be cured of his addiction? How can Lily trust him again? Surely after the heartache he's caused her, she would be far better off walking away and starting again. The truth is, she is as addicted to Freddy as he is to gambling--and she's not sure she even wants to be free...

The Lonely Life of Biddy Weir

Author: Lesley Allen

Publisher: Bonnier Publishing Fiction Ltd.

ISBN: 1785770187

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 1471

DOWNLOAD NOW »
A charming and uplifting story, perfect for fans of A Man Called Ove or Jonas Jonasson. 'If you're a bit of a weirdo you will love Biddy Weir' - Ian Sansom, bestselling author of The Norfolk Mystery Biddy Weir is a quirky girl. Abandoned by her mother as a baby, and with a father who's not quite equipped for the challenges of modern parenting, Biddy lives in her own little world, happy to pass her time painting by the sea and watching the birds go by. That is, until she meets Alison Flemming. Because there are a few things about Biddy that aren't normal, you see. And Alison isn't afraid to point them out to the world. All of a sudden, Biddy's quiet life is thrown into turmoil. If only there was someone to convince her that, actually, everyone's a little bit weird . . . A story of abuse and survival, of falling down and of starting again, and of one woman's battle to learn to love herself for who she is, The Lonely Life of Biddy Weir is Lesley Allen's startlingly honest debut novel. PRAISE FOR THE LONELY LIFE OF BIDDY WEIR "A wonderful debut: poignant, powerful and moving, with ripples of dark humour." Colin Bateman "I'm a little bit in love with Biddy Weir. In her, Lesley Allen has created a character who is the embodiment of all our adolescent insecurities" Bernie McGill, author of The Butterfly Cabinet "In Biddy Weir, Lesley Allen has created one of those characters that gets under your skin and won't leave . . . A must-read for anyone who has ever wondered about life and where we fit in" Doreen Finn, author ofMy Buried Life "One of my favourite reads this year . . . raw, real and authentic . . . You will be enthralled" Bibliomaniac "Truly uplifting . . . I can not believe this is Lesley Allen's debut novel" Steph and Chris's Book Review

Fiji

A Place Called Home

Author: Daryl Tarte

Publisher: ANU Press

ISBN: 1925022056

Category: Political Science

Page: 240

View: 7502

DOWNLOAD NOW »
Few people have been in the unique position of being able to observe and record the dramatic changes that have taken place in the islands of Fiji over the past 80 years than fourth-generation citizen, Daryl Tarte. He writes emotively, in great detail, about his personal experience of growing up on a remote island during the colonial era, when races were segregated, and white people lived an elite existence. Following independence, he has been personally involved with many of the key economic, political and social activities that have evolved and enabled the nation to progress during the 20th century. These include the sugar industry, tourism, commerce and industry, religion, the media, women and of course, the coups. His observations into the complexities of leadership in these areas of national development are fascinating and perceptive. Much of the story is told through the eyes of the many people of all races with whom he has interacted. Fiji is made up of over 300 unique islands. Tarte has been to many of them, and in a final chapter he gives an insightful commentary of how different they all are.

When You Walked Back Into My Life

Author: Hilary Boyd

Publisher: Quercus

ISBN: 1681440415

Category: Fiction

Page: 432

View: 844

DOWNLOAD NOW »
For eight years Flora's love affair with Fin was a whirlwind of fun and spontaneity - but when Flora wanted to settle down and have children, Fin vanished. Life moved on and Flora's world filled with other people, other cares. There were benefits to being single - no socks under the bed, no mess in the bathroom - even if the memory of Fin could never be completely erased. But then suddenly, shockingly, Fin reappears. He's a changed man, he says, and her wants her back. Is this a chance to put right the wrongs? Or a massive mistake?

Tangled Lives

Author: Hilary Boyd

Publisher: Quercus

ISBN: 1623659736

Category: Fiction

Page: 336

View: 4481

DOWNLOAD NOW »
From the bestselling author of Thursdays in the Park comes a tense, emotional drama about what happens to a family when a secret is kept hidden, and a stranger is suddenly introduced into the dynamic. Annie Delancey is happily married, in her early 50s, with three grown children. But Annie guards a secret. At age nineteen she had a baby boy and gave him up for adoption. She still thinks of him every day. One day she receives a letter from Kent Social Services; her son Daniel wants to make contact. A part of her is overjoyed--she longs to meet him. But another part fears what this revelation will do to her family, none of whom know about her past.When Daniel is introduced to Annie's family, a few small tears in the family fabric suddenly gape wide, and the impact of is greater than she could have ever imagined. From the Trade Paperback edition.

Meet Me on the Beach

Author: Hilary Boyd

Publisher: Quercus

ISBN: 1681440377

Category: Fiction

Page: 352

View: 5029

DOWNLOAD NOW »
Where do you run when your heart's breaking all the rules? When pillar-of-the-community Harry Stewart dies of a sudden heart attack, the whole village is devastated - except for his wife Karen, the only one who really knew the abusive alcoholic Harry had become. Suddenly freed from this oppressive marriage, Karen is nonetheless wracked with guilt about the circumstances of her husband's death, and sees the presence of her spoiled step-daughter, Sophie, as a suitable purgatory. Her only comfort in her grief and isolation is William, the sympathetic local vicar. As Karen shares her secret, William's listening ear soon becomes a shoulder to cry on, and before long Karen realises she is falling in love. But William has a wife and teenaged daughter, not to mention a parish to watch over - and be watched by. As the pressure becomes too much to bear, Karen flees to the seaside and to Mike Best's beach café. But when William suddenly turns up again in her life, can they persuade each other to take one final leap of faith together?

Year of Living Blonde

Author: Andrea Simonne

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9780692452516

Category:

Page: 332

View: 4739

DOWNLOAD NOW »
"A funny and sizzling romp about discovering your inner pin-up girl... " Revenge is a dish... Plain-Jane bakery owner Natalie Anderson has always followed the recipe for a safe life. When her husband dumps her for a seductive older woman though, it's time to throw out the recipe and start from scratch. She cooks up a plan to transform herself from mousy brown to sexy blonde. Meanwhile, she's trying to expand her Seattle bakery, La Dolce Vita, but runs into an obstacle in the form of her irritatingly handsome landlord. Best served hot... Astronomer Anthony Novello's good looks and charm usually guarantees him a free pass with women, though that's not the case with his new tenant, Natalie. Plain, plump, and persnickety--he's never met a woman more annoying. But when Anthony returns from a telescope observing run, he makes a discovery of the non-celestial kind--Natalie has changed. He's amazed to find himself attracted to her. Sparks fly as he tries to convince her there's more to him than meets the eye. To cheating husbands... However, when Natalie's ex-husband tries to win her back, she's forced to make a decision. Is her year of living blonde over? Or is this the start of a new and much sweeter life....

A Most Desirable Marriage

Author: Hilary Boyd

Publisher: Quercus

ISBN: 1681440393

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 3013

DOWNLOAD NOW »
Lawrence and Jo enjoy a strong marriage, the envy of their friends. Even after thirty years they have lots to say to each other, many interests in common and, until recently, a good sex life. But now Lawrence is wary and restless. Something's wrong. Just howwrong, Jo is about to discover... Can they use their years of history - all the things they've shared - to overcome a devastating betrayal?

The Forest of Hands and Teeth

Author: Carrie Ryan

Publisher: Delacorte Books for Young Readers

ISBN: 9780375891977

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 320

View: 1441

DOWNLOAD NOW »
In Mary's world there are simple truths. The Sisterhood always knows best. The Guardians will protect and serve. The Unconsecrated will never relent. And you must always mind the fence that surrounds the village; the fence that protects the village from the Forest of Hands and Teeth. But, slowly, Mary’s truths are failing her. She’s learning things she never wanted to know about the Sisterhood and its secrets, and the Guardians and their power. And, when the fence is breached and her world is thrown into chaos, about the Unconsecrated and their relentlessness. Now, she must choose between her village and her future, between the one she loves and the one who loves her. And she must face the truth about the Forest of Hands and Teeth. Could there be life outside a world surrounded in so much death? [STAR] "A bleak but gripping story...Poignant and powerful."-Publishers Weekly, Starred "A postapocalyptic romance of the first order, elegantly written from title to last line."-Scott Westerfeld, author of the Uglies series and Leviathan "Intelligent, dark, and bewitching, The Forest of Hands and Teeth transitions effortlessly between horror and beauty. Mary's world is one that readers will not soon forget."-Cassandra Clare, bestselling author of City of Bones "Opening The Forest of Hands and Teeth is like cracking Pandora's box: a blur of darkness and a precious bit of hope pour out. This is a beautifully crafted, page-turning, powerful novel. I thoroughly enjoyed it."-Melissa Marr, bestselling author of Wicked Lovely and Ink Exchange "Dark and sexy and scary. Only one of the Unconsecrated could put this book down."-Justine Larbalestier, author of How to Ditch Your Fairy From the Hardcover edition.

The Outcast

Author: Sadie Jones

Publisher: Vintage Canada

ISBN: 0307375455

Category: Fiction

Page: 352

View: 4647

DOWNLOAD NOW »
The village was asleep, with all the people behind the walls and through the windows and up the stairs of the little houses blind and deaf in their beds while anything might happen. Lewis headed down the middle of the road and he kept falling and had to remember to get back on his feet. He reached the churchyard and stood in the dark with the church even darker above him. –from The Outcast by Sadie Jones It’s 1957. Nineteen-year-old Lewis Aldridge is returning by train to his home in Waterford where he has just served a two-year prison term for a crime that shocked the sleepy Surrey community. Wearing a new suit, he carries money his father Gilbert sent — to keep him away, he suspects — and a straight razor. No one greets him at the station. Twelve years earlier, seven-year-old Lewis and his spirited mother Elizabeth are on the same train, bringing Gilbert home from war. Waterford is experiencing many such reunions, alcohol lubricating awkward homecomings and community gatherings. The most oppressive of these are the mandatory holiday parties hosted by the town’s leading industrialist Dicky Carmichael, Gilbert’s employer. With the Carmichael estate backing onto the Aldridge property, the attractive and popular Tamsin Carmichael and her precocious kid sister Kit are Lewis’s playmates, along with a gaggle of neighbourhood boys who (like Lewis) are fascinated by Tamsin. The children play thrilling and cruel games, mirroring the adults’ inebriated dysfunction. Though pleased to be reunited with Elizabeth, Gilbert is appalled by the coddling his son has received in his absence. No longer permitted to skip church for picnics by the river, Elizabeth and Lewis are steered back under the ever-judgmental gaze of Waterford society. Lewis continues to flourish, a naturally capable golden child. But iconoclastic Elizabeth, disappointed by Gilbert’s insistence on conformity, seeks refuge in the bottle. Then a sunny riverside picnic ends with Elizabeth dead and ten-year-old Lewis the only witness. A shattered Gilbert is incapable of providing comfort to his young son and the community of Waterford turns away from the traumatized child, now rendered a pariah by tragedy. Lewis is sent to boarding school, summoned home only for holidays. Gilbert remarries five months later to Alice, a compliant beauty who is not up to the task of parenting a damaged child. Years pass and Lewis, now a troubled teenager, is lost in dangerous and self-harming behaviours. When an incident with a local bully causes Lewis to be even further estranged from the community, Gilbert and Alice stand idly by as Lewis is tormented by the tyrannical Dicky. Enraged, Lewis commits a shocking crime against the whole of Waterford and is sent to prison. Two years later, upon his shamed return, the town continues to treat Lewis as an outcast. Only Tamsin’s little sister Kit, now a young woman, sees in him the golden boy he once was. She had become infatuated with Lewis years earlier when he had casually protected her from bullies and broken bicycle chains. But she now faces a much darker and more dangerous sort of bullying at the hands of her father. It is up to Lewis once again to rescue her, redeeming himself through tremendous courage and terrible sacrifice. And perhaps Kit holds the power to rescue him, too. Winner of the Costa First Novel Award and a finalist for the prestigious Orange Prize, Sadie Jones’s The Outcast introduces us to a clear and brave new voice in British fiction. The novel is a clarion call to us all, daring us to stand up to the bullies of our world, in whatever form they may take and — above all else — to love our children. From the Hardcover edition.

America Now

Short Readings from Recent Periodicals

Author: Robert Atwan

Publisher: Macmillan Higher Education

ISBN: 1319021778

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 400

View: 4657

DOWNLOAD NOW »
America Now makes it easy for you to get brief, accessible, and thought-provoking essays into your classroom, with trustworthy, reliable pedagogy and an expert reader's knowledge of what works in the classroom. As series editor for Best American Essays, Robert Atwan constantly scours a wide range of periodicals, bringing to America Now an unrivaled focus on the best writing on today. Instructors tell us that their students want to respond to the essays in the book, and they praise the high-quality reading and writing instruction, critical thinking and reading questions, and model student essays that help them do so.

The Trip of a Lifetime

Author: Monica McInerney

Publisher: Penguin Group Australia

ISBN: 0143786326

Category: Fiction

Page: 528

View: 5779

DOWNLOAD NOW »
'I always thought memories were unchangeable. Set in stone, shaped by the years. But there are always others too, ones you haven't let yourself remember . . . ' The wilful and eccentric Lola Quinlan is off on the trip of a lifetime, taking her beloved granddaughter and great-granddaughter with her. More than sixty years after emigrating to Australia, she's keeping a secret promise to return to her Irish homeland. But as she embarks on her journey, the flamboyant Lola is still hiding the hurtful reasons she left Ireland in the first place. What - and who - will be waiting for her on the other side of the world? The Trip of a Lifetime is a big, bold, beautiful book about the light and dark times of life, and all the wonders in between. Moving from the Clare Valley of South Australia to the lush Irish countryside, this is a delightful, emotional story about a colourful and huge-hearted family that you'll want to call your own.

Digital Transformation in Journalism and News Media

Media Management, Media Convergence and Globalization

Author: Mike Friedrichsen,Yahya Kamalipour

Publisher: Springer

ISBN: 3319277863

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 555

View: 9539

DOWNLOAD NOW »
This book analyzes various digital transformation processes in journalism and news media. By investigating how these processes stimulate innovation, the authors identify new business and communication models, as well as digital strategies for a new environment of global information flows. The book will help journalists and practitioners working in news media to identify best practices and discover new types of information flows in a rapidly changing news media landscape.