Five Quarters

Recipes and Notes from a Kitchen in Rome

Author: Rachel Roddy

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 144473508X

Category: Cooking

Page: 384

View: 2581

DOWNLOAD NOW »
Rachel Roddy's Five Quarters won the Guild of Food Writers' First Book award and the André Simon Food Book award 2015. 'Five Quarters stands out as particularly considered and evocative...Impeccably researched and transportive, it's a proper read, rather than a quick flick.' AA Gill, Sunday Times best cookbooks 2015 'Of course I thought Rome was glorious, but I didn't want to stay. A month, three at most, then I'd take a train back to Sicily to finish the clockwise journey I'd interrupted, before moving even further southwards...' Instead, captivated by the exhilarating life of Testaccio, the wedge-shaped quarter of Rome that centres round the old slaughterhouse and the bustling food market, Rachel decided to rent a flat and live there. Thus began an Italian adventure that's turned into a brand new life. Five Quarters charts a year in Rachel's small kitchen, shopping, cooking, eating and writing, capturing a uniquely domestic picture of life in this vibrant, charismatic city. Combining Rachel's love of Italian food and cooking with a strong nostalgia for home and memories of growing up in England, this is a cookbook to read in bed as well as to use in the kitchen. Chapters: Antipasti Soup & Pasta Meat & Fish Vegetables Dolci

Two Kitchens

120 Family Recipes from Sicily and Rome

Author: Rachel Roddy

Publisher: Headline

ISBN: 9781472248411

Category: Cooking

Page: 384

View: 7789

DOWNLOAD NOW »
From the award-winning weekly Guardian Cook columnist and winner of the André Simon and Guild of Food Writers' Awards comes an Italian food book of sumptuous recipes, flavours and stories from Sicily and Rome. For the last twelve years, food-writer, cook and photographer Rachel Roddy has immersed herself in the culture of Roman cooking, but it was the flavours of the south that she and her Sicilian partner, Vincenzo, often craved. Eventually the chance arose to spend more time at his old family house in south-east Sicily, where Rachel embraced the country's traditional recipes and the stories behind them. In Two Kitchens Rachel celebrates the food and flavours of Rome and Sicily and shares over 120 of these simple, everyday dishes from her two distant but connected kitchens. From tomato and salted ricotta salad, caponata and baked Sicilian pasta to lemon crumble, honeyed peaches and almond and chocolate cake, they are the authentic Italian recipes that you will want to cook again and again until you've made them your own. 'This is a recipe book that reflects the way I cook and eat: uncomplicated, direct and adaptable Italian family food that reflects the season. The two kitchens of the title are my kitchens in Rome and Sicily. In a sense, though, we could have called the book "many kitchens" as I invite you to make these recipes your own.' Rachel Roddy Two Kitchens chapters: Vegetables and Herbs - Tomatoes; Aubergines; Peas; Broad Beans; Cauliflower; Potatoes; Onions; Herbs Fruit and Nuts - Lemons; Peaches; Oranges; Grapes and Figs; Almonds Meat, Fish and Dairy - Beef and pork; Chicken; White fish; Fresh anchovies and sardines; Eggs; Ricotta Storecupboard - Chickpeas; Lentils; Preserved anchovies; Flour; Bread Rachel's first book, Five Quarters: Recipes and Notes from a Kitchen in Rome, won the André Simon Food Book Award and the Guild of Food Writers' First Book Award in 2015.

Dunkle Wasser in Florenz

Ein Fall für Commissario Casini

Author: Marco Vichi

Publisher: BASTEI LÜBBE

ISBN: 3732565297

Category: Fiction

Page: 397

View: 1247

DOWNLOAD NOW »
Ein äußerst brutaler Fall, unter äußerst schwierigen Umständen - Commissario Casinis schwerste Prüfung! Florenz, 1966. Ein gewaltiges Unwetter braut sich über Florenz zusammen, als in einem nahegelegenen Wald die geschändete Leiche eines 13-jährigen Jungen aufgefunden wird. Kurz darauf versetzen die Wassermassen des Arno die Stadt in den Ausnahmezustand - und verwischen jede Spur. Der Fall versinkt mangels weiterer Indizien zunächst buchstäblich im Morast - bis zu jenem Tag, an dem Commissario Casini mit einem rätselhaften weiteren Fund konfrontiert wird ... "Vichis raffinierter Krimi bietet beste Unterhaltung, seine Sprache ist durchzogen von toskanischem Flair" Gazzettadi Parma Ausgezeichnet mit dem Premio Scerbanenco 2009, dem bedeutendsten italienischen Preis für Werke der Kriminalliteratur - "Dunkle Wasser in Florenz" ist ein atmosphärischer Ermittler-Krimi mit Retro-Charme, nicht nur für Fans von Commissario Caselli und Maresciallo Bonanno. Commissario Casini ermittelt auch in diesen Italien-Krimis: Das Geheimnis der Signora. Die Macht der Erinnerung. Der zweite Tod des stummen Zeugen. Außerdem von Marco Vichi als eBook bei beTHRILLED erhältlich: Der Toskana-Krimi "Nachtschattenhaus". eBooks von beTHRILLED - mörderisch gute Unterhaltung.

Die 4-Stunden-Woche

Mehr Zeit, mehr Geld, mehr Leben

Author: Timothy Ferriss

Publisher: Ullstein eBooks

ISBN: 3843704457

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 352

View: 8346

DOWNLOAD NOW »
Warum arbeiten wir uns eigentlich zu Tode? Haben wir nichts Besseres zu tun? Und ob! - sagt Timothy Ferriss. Der junge Unternehmer war lange Workaholic mit 80-Stunden-Woche. Doch dann erfand er MBA - Management by Absence - und ist seitdem freier, reicher, glücklicher. Mit viel Humor, provokanten Denkanstößen und erprobten Tipps erklärt Ferriss, wie sich die 4-Stunden-Woche bei vollem Lohnausgleich verwirklichen lässt. Der Wegweiser für eine Flucht aus dem Hamsterrad und ein Manifest für eine neue Gewichtung zwischen Leben und Arbeiten.

Der Geschmacksthesaurus

Ideen, Rezepte und Kombinationen für die kreative Küche

Author: Niki Segnit

Publisher: ebook Berlin Verlag

ISBN: 3827074835

Category: Cooking

Page: 544

View: 708

DOWNLOAD NOW »
Schokolade mit Kardamom, Austern mit Wassermelone oder doch lieber Avocado mit Kaffee? Niki Segnits Geschmacksthesaurus ist das perfekte Handbuch für das unkonventionelle Kombinieren von Aromen.

A Modern Way to Eat

Über 200 vegetarische und vegane Rezepte für jeden Tag

Author: Anna Jones

Publisher: Mosaik Verlag

ISBN: 3641173698

Category: Cooking

Page: 360

View: 5976

DOWNLOAD NOW »
Raffiniert leichte vegetarische Küche! Bewusst genießen, ohne stundenlang am Herd zu stehen – Anna Jones' leichte, frische Rezepte passen perfekt zur modernen Lebensweise. Ihre raffinierten Kreationen erkunden die Vielfalt des saisonalen Angebots und bieten neue Geschmackserlebnisse. So bringt sie einen neuen Dreh in die vegetarische Küche mit Gerichten, die gesund und lecker sind, satt und einfach glücklich machen, wie: • Blaubeer-Amaranth-Porridge für einen guten Start in den Tag, • Rote-Bete-Curry mit Hüttenkäse zum Lunch, • Safran-Ratatouille zum Abendessen, • jede Menge Ideen für Desserts, Kuchen, Brot und Chutneys, • und zahlreichen veganen und glutenfreien Alternativen. Einfach gut essen!

Aperitivo

Drinks and snacks for the Dolce Vita

Author: Kay Plunkett-Hogge

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1784723851

Category: Cooking

Page: 224

View: 7450

DOWNLOAD NOW »
Let's be honest: who doesn't want to be a little bit Italian? To glide through Rome on a Vespa like Marcello Mastroianni, wearing an impeccable suit? Or sit in St Mark's Square in Venice at dusk, nibbling cicchetti and sipping an Aperol spritz? This is la dolce vita, and this is aperitivo - Italy's take on drinks and small snacks. Aperitivo brings together 80 recipes from across Italy, and tells the stories behind the food and the drinks that shape the aperitif hour. The book opens with the aperitivi themselves - Campari and Aperol - as well as recipes for classic Italian cocktails (including the perfect Negroni) and a guide to Italian wine. Kay then introduces simple recipes for Antipasto and Pinzimonio; Tramezzini; Bruschette and Crostini; Seafood; Meat and Fowl; Vegetables, Dairy and Eggs; Bread and Baking; and Dolci. So let's cinch in our waists, pop on some cat's eye sunglasses, and make like Sophia Loren. It's time for Aperitivo.

Das Labor in der Box

Technikentwicklung und Unternehmensgründung in der frühen deutschen Biotechnologie

Author: Inken Rebentrost

Publisher: C.H.Beck

ISBN: 9783406544033

Category: Biotechnology industries

Page: 309

View: 2904

DOWNLOAD NOW »

My new roots

Saisonale vegetarische Gerichte für ein besseres Lebensgefühl

Author: Sarah Britton

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9783868738650

Category:

Page: 256

View: 4390

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Mit Verstand und Gefühl

Frauen im Beruf und die Kunst des Savoir-faire

Author: Mireille Guiliano

Publisher: ebook Berlin Verlag

ISBN: 3827071100

Category: Family & Relationships

Page: 256

View: 4641

DOWNLOAD NOW »
»Ich habe versucht, ein Buch zu schreiben, wie ich es mir damals bei meinen ersten Schritten in die Arbeitswelt gewünscht hätte. Es gibt Ratschläge, wie Sie vorankommen und befördert werden, aber darüber hinaus geht es vor allem darum, wie Sie ein glückliches Leben führen können, selbst wenn Sie am Arbeitsplatz Ihr Bestes geben. Wir arbeiten nicht in einem Vakuum. Unsere Arbeit ist Teil unseres Lebens.« Die ehemalige Chefin von Veuve Clicquot USA gibt in ihrem dritten Buch lebendige Ratschläge, wie Frauen im Beruf ihre eigenen Leidenschaften und Talente entdecken können, ihre kommunikativen Gaben nutzen, mit Alltagsstress umgehen und - nach der Philosophie französischer Frauen - auf die schönen Dinge des Lebens dennoch nicht verzichten. Ein stilvoller, witziger und kluger Ratgeber für alle berufstätigen Frauen.

Das Mädchen im Dunkeln

Psychothriller

Author: Jenny Blackhurst

Publisher: BASTEI LÜBBE

ISBN: 3732529975

Category: Fiction

Page: 431

View: 6845

DOWNLOAD NOW »
SEINE FREUNDE SOLLTE MAN SICH GUT AUSSUCHEN - SEINE FEINDE NOCH BESSER ... Als Karen Brown ihre neue Patientin zum ersten Mal sieht, hält sie Jessica für einen psychologischen Routinefall: eine gelangweilte Frau, die ihren tristen Alltag mit einer heimlichen Affäre aufpeppt. Doch schon nach ihrem ersten Gespräch hat Karen das Gefühl, dass Jessica geradezu besessen ist von der Ehefrau ihres Liebhabers. Als wenig später die Leiche jener Frau gefunden wird, steht die Polizei vor Karens Tür. Sie gilt als dringend mordverdächtig. Karen ahnt, dass Jessica sie nicht zufällig ausgewählt hat - und dass es ein großer Fehler war, Jessica zu unterschätzen ... DER NEUE ROMAN DER SPIEGEL-BESTSELLERAUTORIN - FESSELND, ABGRÜNDIG UND ABSOLUT UNVORHERSEHBAR. "In ihrem Debütroman Die stille Kammer entfesselt die 29 Jahre alte Britin Jenny Blackhurst ein Gefühlschaos, beklemmend und mitreißend." Kölner Stadt-Anzeiger