Running Away to Home

Our Family's Journey to Croatia in Search of Who We Are, Where We Came From, and What Really Matters

Author: Jennifer Wilson

Publisher: St. Martin's Press

ISBN: 1429989084

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 336

View: 7485

DOWNLOAD NOW »
A middle class, Midwestern family in search of meaning uproot themselves and move to their ancestral village in Croatia "We can look at this in two ways," Jim wrote, always the pragmatist. "We can panic and scrap the whole idea. Or we can take this as a sign. They're saying the economy is going to get worse before it gets better. Maybe this is the kick in the pants we needed to do something completely different. There will always be an excuse not to go..." And that, friends, is how a typically sane middle-aged mother decided to drag her family back to a forlorn mountain village in the backwoods of Croatia. So begins the author's journey in Running Away to Home. Jen, her architect husband, Jim, and their two children had been living the typical soccer- and ballet-practice life in the most Middle American of places: Des Moines, Iowa. They overindulged themselves and their kids, and as a family they were losing one another in the rush of work, school, and activities. One day, Jen and her husband looked at each other–both holding their Starbucks coffee as they headed out to their SUV in the mall parking lot, while the kids complained about the inferiority of the toys they just got–and asked themselves: "Is this the American dream? Because if it is, it sort of sucks." Jim and Jen had always dreamed of taking a family sabbatical in another country, so when they lost half their savings in the stock-market crash, it seemed like just a crazy enough time to do it. High on wanderlust, they left the troubled landscape of contemporary America for the Croatian mountain village of Mrkopalj, the land of Jennifer's ancestors. It was a village that seemed hermetically sealed for the last one hundred years, with a population of eight hundred (mostly drunken) residents and a herd of sheep milling around the post office. For several months they lived like locals, from milking the neighbor's cows to eating roasted pig on a spit to desperately seeking the village recipe for bootleg liquor. As the Wilson-Hoff family struggled to stay sane (and warm), what they found was much deeper and bigger than themselves.

Ginger Pig Meat Book

Author: Fran Warde,Tim Wilson

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 184533972X

Category: Cooking

Page: 336

View: 7610

DOWNLOAD NOW »
Tim Wilson and Fran Warde have teamed up to create this comprehensive reference work and inspirational collection of recipes. For each type of meat, the book recommends the best breeds, advises which cuts suit which style of cooking and tells you what to ask your butcher in order to buy the best quality. There are more than 100 recipes arranged according to season, from Sticky citrus-marinated pork chops in April through Moroccan chicken with preserved lemons in July to Slow-baked herb-crusted leg of mutton in December. Through monthly farm diaries, the book also reveals what life is really like on a thriving British farm. Packed with specially commissioned photographs taken on the farm as well as in the kitchen by renowned photographer Kristin Perers, this is a uniquely beautiful and useful book.

Harper's Magazine

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Literature

Page: N.A

View: 1892

DOWNLOAD NOW »
Important American periodical dating back to 1850.

Harper's New Monthly Magazine

Author: Henry Mills Alden

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: American literature

Page: N.A

View: 1814

DOWNLOAD NOW »
Harper's informs a diverse body of readers of cultural, business, political, literary and scientific affairs.

Good Morning, Beautiful Business

The Unexpected Journey of an Activist Entrepreneur and Local-Economy Pioneer

Author: Judy Wicks

Publisher: Chelsea Green Publishing

ISBN: 193339224X

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 299

View: 9949

DOWNLOAD NOW »
It's not often that someone stumbles into entrepreneurship and ends up reviving a community and starting a national economic-reform movement. But that's what happened when, in 1983, Judy Wicks founded the White Dog Café on the first floor of her house on a row of Victorian brownstones in West Philadelphia. After helping to save her block from demolition, Judy grew what began as a tiny muffin shop into a 200-seat restaurant-one of the first to feature local, organic, and humane food. The restaurant blossomed into a regional hub for community, and a national powerhouse for modeling socially responsible business. Good Morning, Beautiful Business is a memoir about the evolution of an entrepreneur who would not only change her neighborhood, but would also change her world-helping communities far and wide create local living economies that value people and place as much as commerce and that make communities not just interesting and diverse and prosperous, but also resilient. Wicks recounts a girlhood coming of age in the sixties, a stint working in an Alaska Eskimo village in the seventies, her experience cofounding the first Free People store, her accidental entry into the world of restauranteering, the emergence of the celebrated White Dog Café, and her eventual role as an international leader and speaker in the local-living-economies movement. Her memoir traces the roots of her career - exploring what it takes to marry social change and commerce, and do business differently. Passionate, fun, and inspirational, Good Morning, Beautiful Business explores the way women, and men, can follow both mind and heart, do what's right, and do well by doing good.

The TimeStorm Trilogy

Author: Steve Wilson

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN: 1291702563

Category: Fiction

Page: 740

View: 914

DOWNLOAD NOW »
The story of three generations of a family and their quest to rid the world of an evil that threatens their very existence

Lightning's Child - The Timestorm Trilogy Book 1

Author: Steve Wilson

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN: 1291718524

Category: Fiction

Page: 228

View: 1808

DOWNLOAD NOW »
When David Rathman receives a strange pamphlet through the post, inviting him to join a new golf club in Scotland, little does he realise the import contained within the papers. A lightning strike transports him to a nightmare reality where he finds he is prophesied to save the land from its tyrannical ruler. But how is he to fulfil the prophesy when everything is alien to him?

The Breeder's Gazette

A Weekly Publication Devoted ... to the Interests of Live-stock Breeders

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Livestock

Page: N.A

View: 5640

DOWNLOAD NOW »

The Examiner

A Weekly Paper on Politics, Literature, Music and the Fine Arts

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category:

Page: N.A

View: 7286

DOWNLOAD NOW »

The Athenaeum

Journal of Literature, Science, the Fine Arts, Music and the Drama

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Literature

Page: N.A

View: 6114

DOWNLOAD NOW »

The Athenaeum

A Journal of Literature, Science, the Fine Arts, Music, and the Drama

Author: James Silk Buckingham,John Sterling,Frederick Denison Maurice,Henry Stebbing,Charles Wentworth Dilke,Thomas Kibble Hervey,William Hepworth Dixon,Norman Maccoll,John Middleton Murry,Vernon Horace Rendall

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category:

Page: N.A

View: 4192

DOWNLOAD NOW »

A family history

Robert James Bacon and Elizabeth Browne Crowe Bacon of Mitchell and Dougherty Counties, Georgia : their ancestors and descendants

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Dougherty County (Ga.)

Page: 574

View: 3662

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Everything But the Squeal

A year pigging out in Northern Spain

Author: John Barlow

Publisher:

ISBN: N.A

Category: Travel

Page: 432

View: 1731

DOWNLOAD NOW »
*** EVERYTHING BUT THE SQUEAL *** Makes you want to get on the next flight to Santiago and eat cocido! Rick Stein, TV chef "Delicious" - Time Magazine "Fascinating" - The Economist "Enjoyable and witty" - Waterstones "Mouthwatering" - LA Times "Raucous, affectionate" - Irish Times "Fascinating and hilarious" - Toronto Star *** John Barlow, a self-confessed glutton, finds himself in a meat-lover’s dream. Galicia, in the misty north-western cormer of ‘green’ Spain, is a place where they revere and consume every part of the pig. This starts Barlow thinking about the nature of our relationship with food – what’s delicious, what’s not, and what sort of obligation we have to the animals we eat. Over the course of one glorious year, Barlow tries the patience of his vegetarian wife as he goes the whole hog and vows to eat every part of a Galician pig - everything but the squeal. In his travels he takes part in a thousand-year-old antthrowing festival of Laza, makes pig-bladder puddings for carnival, and manages to taste every other part of the animal, from snout to tail. All washed down with local wine! In the tradition of Bill Bryson, Calvin Trillin and Anthony Bourdain, Everything but the Squeal is an adventure in extreme eating, a hilariously quirky travel book, and a perceptive look at how what we eat makes us who we are. First pubished by Farrar, Straus and Giroux in the USA. *** Reviews With good humor and shameless enthusiasm, he has written a delicious meat note. Verdict: Read. Time Magazine ...the attraction of Mr Barlow’s book is that he goes well beyond the business of eating. He gives us a fascinating journal of his Galician wanderings. The Economist Like Bill Bryson, Mr. Barlow has canny comic timing. What both writers get by on is cerebral charm that can verge on slapstick. New York Times An enjoyable and witty journal of gourmet wanderings in Galicia. Waterstone's Books Quarterly Perhaps even more satisfying than his madcap extreme eating and cooking experiences are Barlow's quotable observations about Galicians. New York Post A mouthwatering adventure. LA Times A raucous, affectionate road trip, on which you don’t know where the next meal is coming from. Irish Times Fascinating and hilarious. Toronto Star Charmingly informative and witty. Publishers Weekly Barlow is a very fine writer, and exhibits genius in figuring out new ways to describe food. Edmonton Journal One of the funniest and most moving stories of the so-called ‘new Spain’. La Nación (Argentina) A most compelling and delicious book... This is a fine and noteworthy addition to any serious Spanish food library, and a must-read for anyone contemplating a trip into this green corner of Spain. Hollywood Reporter Barlow is a companionable guide expounding upon history, traditions and the personalities of Galicia. His writing style is quick, lively and filled with delicious details. He takes readers on a sublime journey of the senses. Publishers Weekly (starred review) Barlow is a writer first and foremost, not just another foodie looking for a publisher to pick up his tapas tab. He embraces his adopted culture with affectionate and knowing ribbing... A savory travelogue with insights that go beyond taste and texture. Kirkus keywords: spain and spanish food, galicia and north west spain, humorous travel books about spain, northern spain and food like cocido, rick stein, the pilgrims way in santiago de compostela, memoirs of an englishman abroad

The Gael

Author: Geraldine M. Haverty,Stephen J. Richardson

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Ireland

Page: N.A

View: 6847

DOWNLOAD NOW »

The Swiss Family Robinson

Author: William Henry Giles Kingston

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Adventure stories

Page: 564

View: 7819

DOWNLOAD NOW »
Relates the fortunes of a shipwrecked family as they adapt to life on an island with abundant animal and plant life.