Princess

Author: Jean Sasson

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 1448111315

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 304

View: 8420

DOWNLOAD NOW »
In a land where Kings still rule, I am a Princess. You must know me only as Sultana, for I cannot reveal my true name for fear that harm will come to me and my family for what I am about to tell you. Think of a Saudi Arabian princess and what do you see? A woman glittering with jewels, living a life of unbelievable luxury. She has gold, palaces, swimming-pools, servants, designer dresses galore. But in reality she lives in a gilded cage. She has no freedom, no vote, no control over her own life, no value but as a bearer of sons. Hidden behind the veil, she is a prisoner, her jailers her father, her husband, her sons. 'Sultana' is a member of the Saudi royal family, closely related to the King. For the sake of her daughters, she decided that it was time for a woman in her position to speak out about the reality of life for women in her country, whatever their rank. She tells of her own life, from her turbulent childhood to her arranged marriage - a happy one, until her husband decided to take a second wife - and of the lives of her sisters, her friends and her servants. In contrast to the affection and easy camaraderie amongst the women, she relates a history of appalling oppression against them, everyday occurrences that in any other culture would be seen as shocking human rights violations: forced marriages, servants bullied into sex slavery, summary executions. Princess is a testimony to a woman of indomitable spirit and great courage. By speaking out, 'Sultana' risked bringing the wrath of the Saudi establishment upon her head and upon the heads of her children. For this reason, she told her story anonymously.

Mayada

Tochter des Irak

Author: Jean P. Sasson

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9783442361793

Category:

Page: 383

View: 7883

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Princess: Stepping Out Of The Shadows

Author: Jean Sasson

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 147356025X

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 288

View: 5848

DOWNLOAD NOW »
In the international bestseller, Princess: The True Story of Life Behind the Veil in Saudi Arabia, Princess Al-Sa’ud and the acclaimed author Jean Sasson began a remarkable series of books. Now, more than twenty-five years later, this compelling journey continues as we follow the fortunes and the dazzling life of the Princess, her friends and her family. But, of course, there is a less glamorous, much darker side to this engaging series, and in Stepping Out of the Shadows Jean and the Princess focus their attention on how, despite positive news on civil rights reforms, Saudi women still suffer physical and psychological abuse and have little legal protection due to the archaic guardianship laws of the land. So, although this is a kingdom on the threshold of revolutionary change – change spearheaded by the young Saudi Crown Prince who is keen to modernize his country – any thoughts of equal rights and the chance to lead an independent life remain little more than dreams for most Saudi women. Whilst the Princess acknowledges and welcomes the reforms that are on the horizon, through stories of joy and sorrow, we see how she is determined to continue to fight for equal rights for women in this, her beloved kingdom.

Princess Sultana's Daughters

Author: Jean P. Sasson

Publisher: Windsor Brooke Books

ISBN: 9780967673752

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 231

View: 9383

DOWNLOAD NOW »
Chronicles the fates of the two daughters of a Saudi Arabian princess--the elder, driven by isolation and fear into a lesbian relationship and mental breakdown, and the younger, who is seduced by fundamentalist fanaticism.

Princess Trilogy Study Guide

Author: Jon Gregson Crawford,Jean Sasson

Publisher: BookBaby

ISBN: 1624881734

Category: Study Aids

Page: 202

View: 6907

DOWNLOAD NOW »
The only study guide of the three PRINCESS books authorized by the writer JEAN SASSON. This study guide includes an interview with Jean Sasson and with Princess Sultana Al-Saud Princess Triology Study Guide: Book I: PRINCESS: A True Story of Life Behind the Veil in Saudi Arabia Book II: Princess Sultana's Daughters Book III: Princess Sultana's Circle

Nicht ohne meine Tochter

Sie wird von ihrem persischen Ehemann in Teheran festgehalten.. Sie hätte fliehen können, ihre Tochter aber sollte sie zurücklassen ...

Author: Betty Mahmoody

Publisher: BASTEI LÜBBE

ISBN: 3732510158

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 540

View: 4396

DOWNLOAD NOW »
Nichts ahnend fliegt Betty Mahmoody zusammen mit ihrer kleinen Tochter und ihrem persischen Ehemann für einen zweiwöchigen Aufenthalt in den Iran. Bereits nach wenigen Tagen muss sie feststellen, dass ihr Mann sich immer mehr verändert. Er schlägt sie und ihre Tochter und sperrt sie ein. Von einer Rückkehr in die USA ist nicht mehr die Rede. Als es Betty gelingt, Kontakt zur Schweizer Botschaft aufzunehmen, erfährt sie, dass sie das Land nur ohne ihre Tochter verlassen kann. Das aber will sie unter keinen Umständen...

Love in a Torn Land

Joanna of Kurdistan: The True Story of a Freedom Fighter's Escape from Iraqi Vengeance

Author: Jean Sasson

Publisher: John Wiley & Sons

ISBN: 1118110935

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 352

View: 6219

DOWNLOAD NOW »
In this incredible true love story, bestselling author Jean Sasson shares Joanna al-Askari's personal journey of fear and fortitude through a Baghdad childhood and life as a Kurdish freedom fighter during the Iran-Iraq War. Inspiring and unforgettable, Love in a Torn Land shares Joanna's passionate and unflagging determination to survive and fight—for love, life, and the freedom of her beloved Kurdistan.

The Girl in the Letter: the Most Gripping, Heartwrenching Page-Turner of the Year

Author: EMILY. GUNNIS

Publisher: Headline Review

ISBN: 9781472255099

Category:

Page: 384

View: 2796

DOWNLOAD NOW »
Read her letter. Remember her story... Gripping. Mesmerising. Haunting. Heart-breaking. Once you've heard her story, you will never forget The Girl in the Letter. Perfect for fans of Kate Morton, Rachel Hore and Kathryn Hughes, this page-turning, moving novel of separation and long-buried secrets will stay with you for ever. In the winter of 1956 pregnant young Ivy is sent in disgrace to St Margaret's, a home for unmarried mothers in the south of England, run by nuns, to have her child. Her baby daughter is adopted. Ivy will never leave. Sixty years later, journalist Samantha stumbles upon a series of letters from Ivy to her lover, pleading with him to rescue her from St Margaret's before it is too late. As Sam pieces together Ivy's tragic story, terrible secrets about St Margaret's dark past begin to emerge. What happened to Ivy, to her baby, and to the hundreds of children born in the home? What links a number of mysterious, sudden deaths in the area? And why are those who once worked at St Margaret's so keen that the truth should never be told? As Sam unpicks the sinister web of lies surrounding St Margaret's, she also looks deep within - to confront some unwelcome truths of her own...

Princess More Tears to Cry

Author: Jean Sasson

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 1473508177

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 336

View: 5386

DOWNLOAD NOW »
When Jean Sasson’s book Princess: Life Behind the Veil in Saudi Arabia was published, it became an immediate international bestseller. It sold to 43 countries and spent 13 weeks on The New York Times bestseller list. Now, in this long-awaited, compelling new book, Sasson and the Princess ‘Sultana’ return to tell the world what it means to be a Saudi woman today. Through advances in education and with access to work, Saudi women are breaking through the barriers; they are becoming doctors, social workers, business owners and are even managing to push at the boundaries of public life. Major steps forward have, undoubtedly, been made. But this is not the whole story. Sadly, despite changes in the law, all too often legal loopholes leave women exposed to terrible suppression, abuse and crimes of psychological and physical violence. For many, the struggle for basic human rights continues. This fascinating insight will include personal stories of triumph and heartbreak, as told to Princess 'Sultana', her eldest daughter, and author Jean Sasson. Each of these stories will offer the reader a glimpse into different aspects of Saudi society, including the lives of the Princess, her daughter and other members of the Al-Saud Royal family.

Princess Sultana's Circle

Author: Jean Sasson

Publisher: Turtleback

ISBN: 9780613709156

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 253

View: 8909

DOWNLOAD NOW »
This book paints a horrifying reality for women of the desert kingdom. It is a haunting look at the danger of Saudi male dominance and the desperate lives of the women they rule.

Mayada, Daughter of Iraq

One Woman's Survival Under Saddam Hussein

Author: Jean Sasson

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 1101119187

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 352

View: 7771

DOWNLOAD NOW »
A member of one of the most distinguished and honored families in Iraq, Mayada grew up surrounded by wealth and royalty. But when Saddam Hussein’s regime took power, she was thrown into cell 52 in the infamous Baladiyat prison with seventeen other nameless, faceless women from all walks of life. To ease their suffering, these “shadow women” passed each day by sharing their life stories. Now, through Jean Sasson, Mayada is finally able to tell her story—and theirs—to the world.

Princess Trilogy

Author: Jean Sasson

Publisher: Windsor-Brooke Books

ISBN: 9780967673783

Category:

Page: 826

View: 905

DOWNLOAD NOW »
The Princess Trilogy consists of Princess, A True Story; Princess Sultana's Daugthers; and Princess Sultana's Circle. Sultana is a Saudi Arabian princess, born to uncountable wealth. She has four mansions on three continents, her own private jet, glittering jewels, designer dresses galore. But she has no freedom, no control over her own life, no value but as a bearer of sons. Sultana is a member of the Saudi royal family, closely related to the king. For the sake of her daughters, she has decided to take the risk of speaking out about the life of women in her country, regardless of their rank. She must hide her identity for fear that the religious leaders in her country would call for her death to punish her honesty. Only a woman in her position could possibly hope to escape from being revealed and punished. Although Sultana lives with constant fear of retribution, her passion to provide her daughters a better life transcends her fear and fuels her desire for change.

A History of the Middle East

Author: Saul S. Friedman

Publisher: McFarland

ISBN: 0786451343

Category: History

Page: 353

View: 3788

DOWNLOAD NOW »
As the birthplace of three principal religions, the Middle East is holy to 15 million Jews, 2 billion Christians, and 1 billion Muslims. As the cradle of western civilization, it is fundamental to world history, the place where humans transformed themselves from nomadic hunters to settled farmers capable of building great cities and societies. This detailed history covers the Middle East from its ancient beginnings to the present. The confluence of events that produced civilized society is fully discussed, along with the establishment of Judaism, Christianity, and Islam. The emergence and decline of the Byzantine and Ottoman empires, which laid much of the framework for the region to move into the modern era, is covered in depth. Analysis of the area in recent decades focuses on World War I and II and the regional conflicts that inflame the Middle East of the 21st century. Instructors considering this book for use in a course may request an examination copy here.