The Book Lovers' Companion

What to Read Next

Author: Lionel Shriver

Publisher: Michael O'Mara Books

ISBN: 9781843179603

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 224

View: 3714

DOWNLOAD NOW »
A comprehensive reading guide for book lovers, which makes the choosing of the next book that much easier. With recommended titles ranging from the classics to current bestsellers, as well as a few that may take you out of your comfort zone, you need look no further than The Book Lovers' Companion to make the perfect pick. Each report contains a succinct summary of the recommended title, as well as probing discussion points and fascinating background facts, together with suggestions on further reading Great as a gift for the enthusiastic book club member or for use as a personal guide to what's hot in the world of literature.

The Book Lovers' Companion

What to Read Next

Author: Various Authors

Publisher: Michael O'Mara Books

ISBN: 1782433643

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 334

View: 4386

DOWNLOAD NOW »
With so many fantastic books out there, it can often be difficult to choose what to read next. Thankfully, The Book Lovers' Companion - an updated and revised version of The Book Club Bible - is here to help: bringing together a huge range of the best and most loved titles in one comprehensive guide. Featuring a diverse selection of books to choose from, from Pride and Prejudice to the modern classics as well as the latest bestsellers, this guide includes interesting discussion points and facts that will be indispensable for book lovers as well as potential companion books with similar themes, honest opinions from readers and razor-sharp reviews from critics, so you'll know you're making the right choice every time. Compiled by a range of English literature experts and avid readers, and with a foreword by Lionel Shriver, author of We Need To Talk About Kevin, The Book Lovers' Companion is sure to inspire any book lover. You need never read a bad book again!

I'd Rather Be Reading

The Delights and Dilemmas of the Reading Life

Author: Anne Bogel

Publisher: Baker Books

ISBN: 149341531X

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 160

View: 3752

DOWNLOAD NOW »
For so many people, reading isn't just a hobby or a way to pass the time--it's a lifestyle. Our books shape us, define us, enchant us, and even sometimes infuriate us. Our books are a part of who we are as people, and we can't imagine life without them. I'd Rather Be Reading is the perfect literary companion for everyone who feels that way. In this collection of charming and relatable reflections on the reading life, beloved blogger and author Anne Bogel leads readers to remember the book that first hooked them, the place where they first fell in love with reading, and all of the moments afterward that helped make them the reader they are today. Known as a reading tastemaker through her popular podcast What Should I Read Next?, Bogel invites book lovers into a community of like-minded people to discover new ways to approach literature, learn fascinating new things about books and publishing, and reflect on the role reading plays in their lives. The perfect gift for the bibliophile in everyone's life, I'd Rather Be Reading will command an honored place on the overstuffed bookshelves of any book lover.

The Dog Lover's Companion to California

The Inside Scoop on Where to Take Your Dog

Author: Maria Goodavage

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1612382452

Category: Travel

Page: 1048

View: 6459

DOWNLOAD NOW »
The Dog Lover's Companion to California has the inside scoop on the best dog runs, parks, beaches, hiking trails, camping areas, pet-friendly businesses, and much more. Local author Maria Goodavage and her trusty companion Jake have dug up many surprising resources available to dogs in the Golden State, such as baseball games, summer camps, and pet parades. For the less outdoorsy dog, there are doggy spas, art openings, and even winery visits! Packed with helpful maps, up-to-date leash laws, and a useful "paw" ranking system for all locations in the book, The Dog Lover's Companion to California is a dog's best friend.

100 One-night Reads

A Book Lover's Guide

Author: David C. Major,John S. Major

Publisher: Random House Digital, Inc.

ISBN: 0345439945

Category: Fiction

Page: 312

View: 2072

DOWNLOAD NOW »
Literary anecdotes, author insights, and an essay assessing what makes a book special accompany a collection of one hundred books, selected by the authors to be read in a single evening, including fiction and nonfiction works by Russell Baker, Raymond Chandler, Edith Wharton, Laura Ingalls Wilder, Dylan Thomas, and Walter Mosley, among others. Original. 12,500 first printing.

Das wilde Buch

Author: Juan Villoro

Publisher: Carl Hanser Verlag GmbH Co KG

ISBN: 3446247092

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 240

View: 5749

DOWNLOAD NOW »
Mit Büchern kann der 13-jährige Juan wenig anfangen, bis er die Sommerferien bei seinem buchvernarrten Onkel Tito verbringt. Der lebt in einer gigantischen Bibliothek und er hat gleich einen Auftrag für Juan: Er soll das wilde Buch finden, ein rebellisches Buch, das sich dem Gelesenwerden widersetzt und lange von niemandem gefunden werden konnte. Juan lässt sich auf das Abenteuer ein. Zwischen sonderbaren Buchtypen entdeckt er die tollsten Geschichten – nur das wilde Buch nicht. Erst als er seine erste Liebe, die Apothekerstochter, von der Magie der Bücher überzeugt und eine Verbindung zum echten Leben herstellt, offenbart es sich ... Ein fantasievolles Jugendbuch über die Liebe zum Lesen.

The New York Public Library literature companion

Author: New York Public Library,Anne Skillion

Publisher: Free Pr

ISBN: N.A

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 772

View: 834

DOWNLOAD NOW »
Compiles information about English-language literature from around the world, discussing authors, works of literature, recommended reading, censorship, literary characters, and a chronology of world literature.

The Wine Club

A Month-by-Month Guide to Learning about Wine with Friends

Author: Maureen Christian Petrosky

Publisher: Meredith Books

ISBN: 9780696225437

Category: Cooking

Page: 224

View: 4270

DOWNLOAD NOW »
"You'll enjoy learning more about wine and food with your friends when you start your own wine club. It's casual, fun, as easy as opening a bottle, and every club meeting is a party."--Cover.

Gregs Tagebuch - Von Idioten umzingelt!

Author: Jeff Kinney

Publisher: BASTEI LÜBBE

ISBN: 3732508684

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 224

View: 7585

DOWNLOAD NOW »
Bei dieser Ausgabe handelt es sich um ein PDF. Bitte informieren Sie sich vor dem Kauf darüber, ob Ihr Gerät diese Datei öffnen und korrekt darstellen kann. Greg hat von seiner Mutter ein Tagebuch geschenkt bekommen. Und das, obwohl Tagebücher doch eigentlich nur was für Mädchen sind! Oder etwa doch nicht? Greg jedenfalls beginnt einfach mal darin zu schreiben und zu zeichnen: über seine lästigen Brüder, seine Eltern, seinen trotteligen Freund Rupert, den täglichen Überlebenskampf in der Schule, ein echt gruseliges Geisterhaus und über den verbotenen Stinkekäse ...

What Do I Read Next?

A Reader's Guide to Current Genre Fiction

Author: Neil Barron,Daniel S. Burt,Tom Barton

Publisher: Gale / Cengage Learning

ISBN: 9780787661823

Category: Fiction genres

Page: 690

View: 1235

DOWNLOAD NOW »
Provides synopses for over 1,500 titles of current popular fiction and recommends other books by such criteria as authors, characters portrayed, time period, geographical setting, or genre

Die einzige Wahrheit

Roman

Author: Jodi Picoult

Publisher: Piper Verlag

ISBN: 3492953298

Category: Fiction

Page: 464

View: 6964

DOWNLOAD NOW »
Tiefe Verzweiflung erfasst die junge Katie. Doch in der kleinen Amisch-Gemeinde von Lancaster County kann sie niemandem ihr Geheimnis anvertrauen. Deshalb betet sie zu Gott, dass das hilflose Bündel vor ihr im Stroh für immer aus ihrem Leben verschwinden möge– und steht wenig später unter Mordverdacht. Vor dem faszinierenden Hintergrund der Lebenswelt einer Amisch-Gemeinde erzählt Jodi Picoult von Liebe und Tod, Verrat und bewegender Treue: ein meisterhafter psychologischer Thriller und die Geschichte einer mitreißenden Freundschaft zweier ungewöhnlicher Frauen.

Reading Dante: From Here to Eternity

Author: Prue Shaw

Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company

ISBN: 0871407809

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 398

View: 7232

DOWNLOAD NOW »
The best and most eloquent introduction to Dante for our time. Prue Shaw is one of the world's foremost authorities on Dante. Written with the general reader in mind, Reading Dante brings her knowledge to bear in an accessible yet expert introduction to his great poem. This is far more than an exegesis of Dante’s three-part Commedia. Shaw communicates the imaginative power, the linguistic skill and the emotional intensity of Dante’s poetry—the qualities that make the Commedia perhaps the greatest literary work of all time and not simply a medieval treatise on morality and religion. The book provides a graphic account of the complicated geography of Dante's version of the afterlife and a sure guide to thirteenth-century Florence and the people and places that influenced him. At the same time it offers a literary experience that lifts the reader into the universal realms of poetry and mythology, creating links not only to the classical world of Virgil and Ovid but also to modern art and poetry, the world of T. S. Eliot, Seamus Heaney and many others. Dante's questions are our questions: What is it to be a human being? How should we judge human behavior? What matters in life and in death? Reading Dante helps the reader to understand Dante’s answers to these timeless questions and to see how surprisingly close they sometimes are to modern answers. Reading Dante is an astonishingly lyrical work that will appeal to both those who’ve never read the Commedia and those who have. It underscores Dante's belief that poetry can change human lives.

A Companion to Pablo Neruda

Evaluating Neruda's Poetry

Author: Jason Wilson

Publisher: Boydell & Brewer Ltd

ISBN: 1855662809

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 266

View: 643

DOWNLOAD NOW »
The making of a great Chilean poet.

Southern Belly

A Food Lover's Companion

Author: John T. Edge

Publisher: Algonquin Books

ISBN: 1565128419

Category: Travel

Page: 352

View: 9646

DOWNLOAD NOW »
John T. Edge, "the Faulkner of Southern food" (the Miami Herald), reveals a South hidden in plain sight, where restaurants boast family pedigrees and serve supremely local specialties found nowhere else. From backdoor home kitchens to cinder-block cafés, he introduces you to cooks who have been standing tall by the stove since Eisenhower was in office. While revealing the stories behind their food, he shines a bright light on places that have become Southern institutions. In this fully updated and expanded edition, with recipes throughout, Edge travels from chicken shack to fish camp, from barbecue stand to pie shed. Pop this handy paperback in the glove box to take along on your next road trip. And even if you never get in the car, you'll enjoy the most savory history that the South has to offer.

The Divine Companion (Annotated with Biography about James Allen)

Author: James Allen

Publisher: Golgotha Press

ISBN: 1610426541

Category: Religion

Page: 60

View: 1930

DOWNLOAD NOW »
It cannot be said of this book that James Allen wrote it at any particular time or in any one year, for he was engaged in it over many years and those who have eyes to see and hearts to understand will find in its pages the spiritual history of his life. It was his own wish that The Divine Companion should be the last MS of his to be published. "It is the story of my soul," he said, " and should be read last of all my books, so that the student may understand and find my message in its pages. Therefore hold it back until you have published everything else." There remain now only his dramatic works and a few poems to be included in the next edition of Poems of Peace. That The Divine Companion will prove a companion indeed to thousands who have read his books in the past, I have no doubt. To read it is to hear again the voice of the writer, and to study its message is to once again sit at his feet. He trod the Way himself - every bit of it, and he therefore speaks as one having authority. Lovers of James Allen’s works will indeed be filled with joy to know that there is yet another book from his inspired pen, and will eagerly welcome The Divine Companion. This version of the classic book includes a biography about the life and times of James Allen.

Das Bierbuch

Brauereien Marken Biertouren. Über 1700 Biere aus aller Welt

Author: Tim Hampson

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9783831028245

Category:

Page: 352

View: 561

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Wunder

Author: Raquel J. Palacio

Publisher: Carl Hanser Verlag GmbH Co KG

ISBN: 3446242848

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 384

View: 6478

DOWNLOAD NOW »
August ist anders. Dennoch wünscht er sich, wie alle Jungen in seinem Alter, kein Außenseiter zu sein. Weil er seit seiner Geburt so oft am Gesicht operiert werden musste, ist er noch nie auf eine richtige Schule gegangen. Aber jetzt soll er in die fünfte Klasse kommen. Er weiß, dass die meisten Kinder nicht absichtlich gemein zu ihm sind. Am liebsten würde er gar nicht auffallen. Doch nicht aufzufallen ist nicht leicht, wenn man so viel Mut und Kraft besitzt, so witzig, klug und großzügig ist - wie August.

100 Countries, 5,000 Ideas

Where to Go, When to Go, What to See, What to Do

Author: National Geographic,National Geographic Society (U.S.). Book Division

Publisher: National Geographic Books

ISBN: 1426207581

Category: Travel

Page: 399

View: 1375

DOWNLOAD NOW »
A book with 200 color photos and 100 maps includes thousands of ideas for travel all over the world, organized by country. Original.

The Opera Lover's Companion

Author: Charles Osborne

Publisher: Yale University Press

ISBN: 9780300123739

Category: Music

Page: 627

View: 2912

DOWNLOAD NOW »
Written by a well-known authority, this book consists of 175 entries that set some of the most popular operas within the context of their composer's career, outline the plot, discuss the music, and more.

Selection Storys – Liebe oder Pflicht

Author: Kiera Cass

Publisher: S. Fischer Verlag

ISBN: 3733600657

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 272

View: 2800

DOWNLOAD NOW »
Für alle ›Selection‹-Fans, die sehnsüchtig auf Band 3 der Bestseller-Serie warten Bevor America zum Casting antrat, um die Hand des Prinzen von Illéa zu erobern, gehörte ihr Herz einem anderen. Dass dieser andere nun ihr Leibwächter am Königshof ist, macht America die Entscheidung für einen der beiden nicht eben leichter. Doch wie erleben Prinz Maxon und Americas Jugendliebe Aspen eigentlich das Casting? Gab es in Maxons Leben noch andere Mädchen? Und was spricht der Prinz mit den anderen Bewerberinnen, wenn er gerade kein Date mit America hat? Was ist Aspens schlimmster Alptraum? Vor allem aber: Welche Fäden zieht Maxons Vater, der König, hinter den Kulissen? Spannende Hintergrund-Informationen für alle, die wissen wollen, wie es in Prinz Maxon und Aspen wirklich aussieht ...