Die Witwe

Ein liebender Ehemann oder ein kaltblütiger Mörder ... Was weiß sie wirklich?

Author: Fiona Barton

Publisher: Rowohlt Verlag GmbH

ISBN: 3644222517

Category: Fiction

Page: 432

View: 5784

DOWNLOAD NOW »
Die Frau. Jean Taylor führt ein ganz normales Leben in einer englischen Kleinstadt: Sie hat ein hübsches Haus und einen netten Ehemann. Glen und sie führen eine gute Ehe. Der Mann. Dann kommt der Tag, der alles ändert: Sie nennen Glen jetzt das Monster. Er soll etwas Unsagbares getan haben. Und Jeans heile Welt zerbricht. Die Witwe. Jetzt liegt Glen auf dem Friedhof, und Jean ist zum ersten Mal allein. Allein und frei. Frei ihre Geschichte zu erzählen. Jean Taylor wird uns sagen, was sie weiß. Perfekt konstruierte psychologische Spannung und komplexe Charaktere, erzählt von einer authentischen Stimme.

Die Witwe

Ein liebender Ehemann oder ein kaltblütiger Mörder ... Was weiß sie wirklich?

Author: Fiona Barton

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9783805250979

Category:

Page: 432

View: 661

DOWNLOAD NOW »

The Widow's Tears

Author: George Chapman,Akihiro Yamada

Publisher: Manchester University Press

ISBN: 9780416030204

Category: English drama

Page: 152

View: 9826

DOWNLOAD NOW »

The Widow

Author: Carla Neggers

Publisher: MIRA

ISBN: 1552546349

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 4274

DOWNLOAD NOW »
Four days after Abigail Browning's wedding, her life changed unimaginably: her husband was shot, meeting his death along the rocky Mount Desert Island coast. Was it a random act of violence, or could someone have wanted Christopher dead? That's the question that has haunted Abigail, now a homicide detective, for the past seven years. Determined to fi nd her husband's killer, she returns to the foggy Maine island after receiving an anonymous tip. Is it just another false lead, or can she fi nally prove that Chris was murdered? As the search-and-rescue worker who located Chris too late to save him, Owen Garrison still carries guilt from that fateful night. Right from the start, Abigail's presence on Mount Desert Island ruffl es feathers, but Owen sees she's not the same woman she was seven years ago. As he helps her unravel the mystery, they learn that the layers of deceit and lies are even thicker than they could have imagined. Now it's up to Abigail and Owen to keep pushing for the truth—and stop a killer from striking again….

The Widow Ginger

Author: Pip Granger

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 1446437965

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 3049

DOWNLOAD NOW »
It is 1954, the year Roger Bannister won the four-minute mile. Rosie, and her beloved Auntie Maggie are opening up their café in Old Compton Street for Uncle Bert's breakfast special when the Widow Ginger comes to call. The Widow Ginger, an ex-GI with ice-cold blue eyes, is especially scary. He has unfinished business with Uncle Bert - business that includes being cheated on his share of a 'liberated' lorry-load of guns and explosives during the War - and he intends to make sure he now gets paid in full. And this isn't all: the lovely Luigi appears to be suffering from a severe case of unrequited lust; Bert and the local Mafioso Maltese Joe have had an acrimonious falling-out; and, most worrying of all, Rosie's best friend Jenny has begun to keel over mysteriously in the school playground. With a cast of colourful characters with wonderful names like Sugar Plum Flaherty and Bandy Bunion, Soho streets so authentic you can lean out and touch them, and a story that will make you laugh and cry, The Widow Ginger is another heart-warming novel that will establish Pip as the queen of London saga-writers.

The Widow

Author: Author of The returning prodigal

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Christian life

Page: 68

View: 1120

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Romancing the Widow

Author: Davalynn Spencer

Publisher: Harlequin

ISBN: 0373487215

Category: Fiction

Page: 192

View: 7029

DOWNLOAD NOW »
Martha Stanton Isn't Looking for Love The light went out of Martha's soul when her husband fell to a bullet in St. Louis. Now, back in her hometown of Cañon City, she's convinced she'll never know happiness again. Until she crosses paths with a darkly mysterious Colorado Ranger. Haskell Jacobs has a mission. And the beautiful, flame-haired widow sure isn't it. But Martha is somehow mixed up in the crime that brought Haskell to the rough-and-tumble town…and soon, she's entangled in the lawman's heart. But the danger that lurks around them is all too real. Can they find strength and love in each other before it's too late?

The Widow's Might

Author: Jan Thompson

Publisher: Tate Publishing

ISBN: 1602470634

Category: Religion

Page: 168

View: 5643

DOWNLOAD NOW »
Jan Thompson takes you with her through the first year of widowhood. Honest and real, from the agony of uselessness to the newness of purpose, widows will know that they are not alone. Families, friends and pastors will better understand how to relate and minister to the widow. When she felt she would suffocate in her anguish, Jan felt the breath of the Holy Spirit. When she reached out for her husband, it was God who touched her. The widow brings before her Lord all that she has, and places it on the altar. God blesses her mite into a strength she could not have imagined, and gives her "The Widow's Might" to live once again; abundantly, in victory and grace.

The Widow of Dartmoor

Author: Warwick Downing

Publisher: Andrews UK Limited

ISBN: 1780926022

Category: Fiction

Page: 207

View: 4826

DOWNLOAD NOW »
The Widow of Dartmoor is a sequel to The Hound of the Baskervilles. Beryl Stapleton felt joy, on learning that Jack, her husband, was sucked into the Grimpen Mire. Free of his evil, she opened a fashionable dress shop in London. Her enterprise was a success... until she was caught, at two AM dragging the body of a murdered man into an alleyway. Who better to defend her than The Bastard, the nephew of Sherlock Holmes? Jeremy Holmes was the illegitimate son of Sherlock's oldest brother. With astonishing skill, Jeremy would peel the mask off a false witness and find the truth. But his talent was not the product of reason. Rather, his art. Often, when he drew a likeness, his drawing would reveal the passions and the secrets of one's soul.

Winning the Widow's Heart

Author: Sherri Shackelford

Publisher: Harlequin

ISBN: 1459230973

Category: Fiction

Page: 288

View: 1821

DOWNLOAD NOW »
When Texas Ranger Jack Elder stormed the isolated Kansas homestead, he expected to find a band of outlaws. Instead, the only occupant is a heavily pregnant woman—and she's just gone into labor. A loner uneasy with emotion, Jack helps deliver widow Elizabeth Cole's baby girl and can't get back on the trail fast enough. The robber and murderer he's after killed one of Jack's own, and he vows to catch the man. But when he returns to check on Elizabeth and her little one, he discovers that she may hold the key to his unsettled past—and his hoped-for future.

The Widow Business

A Survival Guide

Author: Vera Martignetti

Publisher: Wheatmark, Inc.

ISBN: 160494336X

Category: Widowhood

Page: 118

View: 9894

DOWNLOAD NOW »
In "The Widow Business," Vera Martignetti shares the intimate experience of coping with the loss of her husband of forty-seven years, and how she learned to take control of the practical and immediate concerns of daily life alone. Martignetti's sense of humor is evident in this always thoughtful but often irreverently funny book as she leads you through her experience of being a first-year widow. He died. Now what? This widow's survival guide answers the inescapable question.

The Widow Waltz

A Novel

Author: Sally Koslow

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 1101622725

Category: Fiction

Page: 352

View: 4782

DOWNLOAD NOW »
“This heartfelt, witty addition to women’s fiction will appeal to fans of Elizabeth Berg and Anna Quindlen.” (Booklist) Georgia Waltz has things many people only dream of: a plush Manhattan apartment overlooking Central Park, a Hamptons beach house, valuable jewels and art, two bright daughters, and a husband she adores, even after decades of marriage. It’s only when Ben suddenly drops dead from a massive coronary while training for the New York City Marathon that Georgia discovers her husband—a successful lawyer—has left them nearly penniless. Their wonderland was built on lies. As the family attorney scours emptied bank accounts, Georgia must not only look for a way to support her family, she needs to face the revelation that Ben was not the perfect husband he appeared to be, just as her daughters—now ensconced back at home with secrets of their own—have to accept that they may not be returning to their lives in Paris and at Stanford subsidized by the Bank of Mom and Dad. As she uncovers hidden resilience, Georgia’s sudden midlife shift forces her to consider who she is and what she truly values. That Georgia may also find new love in the land of Spanx and stretch marks surprises everyone—most of all, her. Sally Koslow’s fourth novel is deftly told through the alternating viewpoints of her remarkable female protagonists as they plumb for the grit required to reinvent their lives. Inspiring, funny, and deeply satisfying, The Widow Waltz explores in a profound way the bonds between mothers and daughters, belligerent siblings, skittish lovers, and bitter rivals as they discover the power of forgiveness, and healing, all while asking, “What is family, really?”

Elijah and the Widow

Author: Rebecca Kertz

Publisher: Harlequin

ISBN: 1488007144

Category: Fiction

Page: 224

View: 7088

DOWNLOAD NOW »
The Widow's Second Chance Martha King has been a widow for only a few months, but already the community wants her to remarry. But after her childless marriage, she isn't in a rush to give her heart to another man—until Elijah Lapp. The handsome—and younger—Eli hires on at Martha's farm to earn extra money to fund his dream of owning a carriage shop. But the more time Eli spends with Martha, the more he realizes his life should also include a wife. Can Eli convince the Amish beauty to overcome their age difference and accept a future with him?

The Widow And The King

Author: John Dickinson

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 1448172438

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 624

View: 4550

DOWNLOAD NOW »
This stunning book opens twelve years after the end of The Cup of the World and tells the story of Ambrose, son of Phaedra and last in the king's line, who is living exiled with his mother in the dilapidated manor of Tarceny. Ambrose's life is threatened by the hooded priest of the Undercraft, an ancestral spirit of pure evil who must end Ambrose's life in order to survive himself. And even when Ambrose is hidden within the house of the Widow of Develin, a hallowed place of learning and haven of education, the priest and his minions slowly and subtly infiltrate within, subverting the minds of those most educated and powerful and leaving Ambrose in mortal danger. This book is about the meaning of kingship, the relationship between father and son, mother and son, the importance of courage and knowledge, innocence and experience. It is a huge and marvellous read - challenging and uplifting.