Die Witwe

Ein liebender Ehemann oder ein kaltblütiger Mörder ... Was weiß sie wirklich?

Author: Fiona Barton

Publisher: Rowohlt Verlag GmbH

ISBN: 3644222517

Category: Fiction

Page: 432

View: 1976

DOWNLOAD NOW »
Die Frau. Jean Taylor führt ein ganz normales Leben in einer englischen Kleinstadt: Sie hat ein hübsches Haus und einen netten Ehemann. Glen und sie führen eine gute Ehe. Der Mann. Dann kommt der Tag, der alles ändert: Sie nennen Glen jetzt das Monster. Er soll etwas Unsagbares getan haben. Und Jeans heile Welt zerbricht. Die Witwe. Jetzt liegt Glen auf dem Friedhof, und Jean ist zum ersten Mal allein. Allein und frei. Frei ihre Geschichte zu erzählen. Jean Taylor wird uns sagen, was sie weiß. Perfekt konstruierte psychologische Spannung und komplexe Charaktere, erzählt von einer authentischen Stimme.

Die Witwe

Ein liebender Ehemann oder ein kaltblütiger Mörder ... Was weiß sie wirklich?

Author: Fiona Barton

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9783805250979

Category:

Page: 432

View: 4708

DOWNLOAD NOW »

The Widow

A Comedy, in Three Acts

Author: Henri Meilhac,Ludovic Halévy

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category:

Page: 29

View: 5815

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Shoot the Widow

Adventures of a Biographer in Search of Her Subject

Author: Meryle Secrest

Publisher: Knopf

ISBN: 0307497860

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 256

View: 8506

DOWNLOAD NOW »
The first rule of biography, wrote Justin Kaplan: “Shoot the widow.” In her new book, Meryle Secrest, acclaimed biographer (“Knowing, sympathetic and entertainingly droll”—The New York Times), writes about her comic triumphs and misadventures as a biographer in search of her nine celebrated subjects, about how the hunt for a “life” is like working one’s way through a maze, full of fall starts, dead ends, and occasional clear passages leading to the next part of the puzzle. She writes about her first book, a life of Romaine Brooks, and how she was led to Nice and given invaluable letters by her subject’s heir that were slid across the table, one at a time; how she was led to the villa of Brooks’ lover, Gabriele d’Annunzio (poet, playwright, and aviator), a fantastic mausoleum left untouched since the moment of his death seventy years before; to a small English village, where she uncovered a lost Romaine Brooks painting; and finally, to 20, rue Jacob, Paris, where Romaine’s lover, Natalie Barney, had fifty years before entertained Cocteau, Gide, Proust, Colette, and others. Secrest describes how her next book—a life of Berenson—prompted Francis Steegmuller, fellow biographer, to comment that he wouldn’t touch the subject with a ten-foot pole. For her life of British art historian Kenneth Clark, Secrest was given permission to write the book by her subject, who surreptitiously financed it in the hopes of controlling its contents; we see how Clark’s plan was foiled by a jealous mistress and a stash of love letters that helped Secrest navigate Clark’s obstacle course. Among the other biographical (mis)adventures, Secrest reveals: how she tracked Salvador Dalí to a hospital room, found him recovering from serious burns sustained in a mysterious fire, and learned that he was knee-deep in a scandal involving fake drawings and prints and surrounded by dangerous characters out of Murder, Inc. . . . and how she went in search of a subject’s grave (Frank Lloyd Wright’s) only to find that his body had been dug up to satisfy the whim of his last wife. A fascinating account of a life spent in sometimes arduous, sometimes comical, always exciting pursuit of the truth about other lives. From the Hardcover edition.

Hope & Help for the Widow

The Reality of Being Alone

Author: Jan Sheble

Publisher: Living Ink Books

ISBN: 9780899571416

Category: Religion

Page: 153

View: 1511

DOWNLOAD NOW »
Jan shares her own story and the stories of others as she provides helpful insights for widows.

The widow

Author: Carolyn Slaughter

Publisher: Vintage

ISBN: N.A

Category: Fiction

Page: 249

View: 2058

DOWNLOAD NOW »

The Widow And The King

Author: John Dickinson

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 1448172438

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 624

View: 7192

DOWNLOAD NOW »
This stunning book opens twelve years after the end of The Cup of the World and tells the story of Ambrose, son of Phaedra and last in the king's line, who is living exiled with his mother in the dilapidated manor of Tarceny. Ambrose's life is threatened by the hooded priest of the Undercraft, an ancestral spirit of pure evil who must end Ambrose's life in order to survive himself. And even when Ambrose is hidden within the house of the Widow of Develin, a hallowed place of learning and haven of education, the priest and his minions slowly and subtly infiltrate within, subverting the minds of those most educated and powerful and leaving Ambrose in mortal danger. This book is about the meaning of kingship, the relationship between father and son, mother and son, the importance of courage and knowledge, innocence and experience. It is a huge and marvellous read - challenging and uplifting.

The Widow Killer

A Novel

Author: Pavel Kohout

Publisher: St. Martin's Press

ISBN: 9781429976428

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 5541

DOWNLOAD NOW »
In the downward spiral of the Third Reich's final days, a sadistic serial killer is stalking the streets of Prague. The unlikely pair of Jan Morava, a rookie Czech police detective, and Erwin Buback, a Gestapo agent questioning his own loyalty to the Nazi's, set out to stop the murderer. Weaving a delicate tale of human struggle underneath the surface of a thrilling murder story, Kohout has created a memorable work of fiction

Die letzte Zeugin

Roman

Author: Nora Roberts

Publisher: Blanvalet Verlag

ISBN: 364109674X

Category: Fiction

Page: 576

View: 5487

DOWNLOAD NOW »
Vertraue niemandem. Es könnte tödlich sein. Abigail Lowery lebt in einer abgeschiedenen Kleinstadt im Süden der USA. Mithilfe modernster Sicherheitssysteme hat sie ihr Haus in ein wahres Fort Knox verwandelt. Sie vermeidet den Kontakt zu anderen Menschen — doch Brooks Gleason, der attraktive Polizeichef des Ortes, ist von der geheimnisvollen jungen Frau fasziniert und kommt ihr gefährlich nahe. Denn Abigail hat Angst, sich ihren Gefühlen hinzugeben — wie in jener schrecklichen Nacht vor zwölf Jahren, die ihr Leben auf dramatische Weise veränderte ...

The Widow

Author: Fiona Barton

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 1101990465

Category: Fiction

Page: 368

View: 7429

DOWNLOAD NOW »
THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER An NPR Best Book of 2016 One of The Wall Street Journal’s 5 “Killer Books” of the Year A Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year For fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train, an electrifying thriller that will take you into the dark spaces that exist between a husband and a wife. When the police started asking questions, Jean Taylor turned into a different woman. One who enabled her and her husband to carry on, when more bad things began to happen... But that woman’s husband died last week. And Jean doesn’t have to be her anymore. There’s a lot Jean hasn’t said over the years about the crime her husband was suspected of committing. She was too busy being the perfect wife, standing by her man while living with the accusing glares and the anonymous harassment. Now there’s no reason to stay quiet. There are people who want to hear her story. They want to know what it was like living with that man. She can tell them that there were secrets. There always are in a marriage. The truth—that’s all anyone wants. But the one lesson Jean has learned in the last few years is that she can make people believe anything…

The Widow's Tears

Author: George Chapman,Akihiro Yamada

Publisher: Manchester University Press

ISBN: 9780416030204

Category: English drama

Page: 152

View: 8725

DOWNLOAD NOW »

The Captain and the Widow

Author: Donna Winters

Publisher: Bigwater Pub

ISBN: 9780923048761

Category: Fiction

Page: 186

View: 4389

DOWNLOAD NOW »
Jenny of L'Anse Bay, Special Edition in the series of Great Lakes Romances(r) is set in the Keweenaw Peninsula of Upper Michigan in 1867. Eager to escape the fiery disaster that leaves her home in ashes, Jennifer Crawford sets out on an adventure to an Ojibway Mission on L'Anse Bay. In the wilderness, her affections grow for a native people very different from herself-especially for the chief's son, Hawk. Together, can they overcome the differences of their diverse cultures, and the harsh, deadly weather of the North Country? Michigan's Upper Peninsula wilderness, its historic Ojibway culture, and the harsh realities of the northern woods come to life in this historical retrospective on the life of a young Christian missionary. Readers interested in the ways of the Ojibway, the challenges of remote wilderness living, and a gentle love story that crosses cultural barriers will enjoy Jenny of L'Anse Ba

Sacrifice of the Widow

Author: Lisa Smedman

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 0786942509

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 311

View: 5869

DOWNLOAD NOW »
A convert to the cause of the goddess Eilistrace, Halisstra Melarn ventures into the farthest depths of the Outer Planes to destroy the demon goddess she had once served, only to be transformed into a hideous creature forced to do the evil will of her vengeful former mistress. Original.

The Widow

Author: Carla Neggers

Publisher: MIRA

ISBN: 1552546349

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 9878

DOWNLOAD NOW »
Four days after Abigail Browning's wedding, her life changed unimaginably: her husband was shot, meeting his death along the rocky Mount Desert Island coast. Was it a random act of violence, or could someone have wanted Christopher dead? That's the question that has haunted Abigail, now a homicide detective, for the past seven years. Determined to fi nd her husband's killer, she returns to the foggy Maine island after receiving an anonymous tip. Is it just another false lead, or can she fi nally prove that Chris was murdered? As the search-and-rescue worker who located Chris too late to save him, Owen Garrison still carries guilt from that fateful night. Right from the start, Abigail's presence on Mount Desert Island ruffl es feathers, but Owen sees she's not the same woman she was seven years ago. As he helps her unravel the mystery, they learn that the layers of deceit and lies are even thicker than they could have imagined. Now it's up to Abigail and Owen to keep pushing for the truth—and stop a killer from striking again….

The Widow Ginger

Author: Pip Granger

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 1446437965

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 5583

DOWNLOAD NOW »
It is 1954, the year Roger Bannister won the four-minute mile. Rosie, and her beloved Auntie Maggie are opening up their café in Old Compton Street for Uncle Bert's breakfast special when the Widow Ginger comes to call. The Widow Ginger, an ex-GI with ice-cold blue eyes, is especially scary. He has unfinished business with Uncle Bert - business that includes being cheated on his share of a 'liberated' lorry-load of guns and explosives during the War - and he intends to make sure he now gets paid in full. And this isn't all: the lovely Luigi appears to be suffering from a severe case of unrequited lust; Bert and the local Mafioso Maltese Joe have had an acrimonious falling-out; and, most worrying of all, Rosie's best friend Jenny has begun to keel over mysteriously in the school playground. With a cast of colourful characters with wonderful names like Sugar Plum Flaherty and Bandy Bunion, Soho streets so authentic you can lean out and touch them, and a story that will make you laugh and cry, The Widow Ginger is another heart-warming novel that will establish Pip as the queen of London saga-writers.

The Widow

Author: Author of The returning prodigal

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Christian life

Page: 68

View: 904

DOWNLOAD NOW »