Constructing Crime

Discourse and Cultural Representations of Crime and 'Deviance'

Author: C. Gregoriou

Publisher: Springer

ISBN: 0230392083

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 249

View: 9030

DOWNLOAD NOW »
Crime and criminals are a pervasive theme in all areas of our culture, including media, journalism, film and literature. This book explores how crime is constructed and culturally represented through a range of areas including Spanish, English Language and Literature, Music, Criminology, Gender, Law, Cultural and Criminal Justice Studies.

A Suitable Job for a Woman

Inside the World of Women Private Eyes

Author: Val McDermid

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9781890208158

Category: Social Science

Page: 302

View: 1086

DOWNLOAD NOW »
Provides interviews and accounts of the experiences, techniques, and occasional adventures of women private investigators working in Great Britain and the United States.

Rattlebone

Author: Maxine Clair

Publisher: Agate Digital

ISBN: 1572844833

Category: Fiction

Page: 224

View: 3568

DOWNLOAD NOW »
In Rattlebone, a "fictional" black community north of Kansas City, the smell of manure and bacon from Armour's Packing House is everywhere; Shady Maurice's roadhouse plays the latest jazz; the best eggs are sold by the Red Quanders; and gospel rules at the Strangers Rest Baptist Church. This is the black Midwest of the 1950s, when towns could count their white folks on one hand—the years before the Civil Rights movement came along and changed everything. In perfectly cadenced vernacular, Maxine Clair speaks to us through the voices of Rattlebone's citizens: October Brown, the new schoolteacher with a camel's walk and shoulder-padded, to-the-nines dresses; Irene Wilson, naive and wise, who must grapple with her parent's failing marriage as she steps eagerly into adulthood; and Thomas Pemberton, owner of the local rooming house, an old man with a young heart. Sparkling with lyricism, Clair's interconnected stories celebrate the natural beauty of the Midwest and the dignity and vitality of these most ordinary lives. Rattlebone, winner of the Heartland Prize for fiction, is a tremendous work by a supremely talented writer, now available for the first time in digital form.

Perfect Together

Author: Lisa Plumley

Publisher: Lisa Plumley

ISBN: 1476443157

Category: Fiction

Page: N.A

View: 2786

DOWNLOAD NOW »
"Plumley's humor sparkles in this thoroughly engaging tale about what's real and what isn't." --Booklist (starred review) Nationally bestselling author Lisa Plumley has charmed readers and critics alike with her gift for sparkling screwball romance. Now, she turns reality TV upside down with a totally different take on prime-time love... After her long-running sitcom is cancelled, actress Marley Madison finds herself a typecast has-been at the ripe old age of twenty-seven. Her career needs a jump-start, fast--and an incognito appearance on the hit reality game show Dream Date will prove her acting ability to the world. But before long, she finds herself wanting to prove something entirely different to her fellow contestant, Jake Jarvis. There's something decidedly un-Hollywood about Jake, a sportscaster whose laid-back charm belies something deeper than an intimate understanding of box scores. And the better Marley gets to know him, the harder it is to remember her motivation. Because she's beginning to realize that what makes her career could break both their hearts--if reality and honesty are on different wavelengths... "Engaging, well-developed protagonists and an abundance of appealing secondary characters, especially an adorable four-year-old and the heroine's geeky twin sister, who definitely needs her own story, add to the fun. This effervescent and heartwarming comedy will appeal to fans of Rachel Gibson and Elizabeth Bevarly." --Library Journal "Perfect Together is the perfect recipe for an entertaining and satisfying romantic read. I'm hastily jotting down this author's backlist for my next trip to the bookstore, because this one was so delightful." --The Romance Reader's Connection "Lisa Plumley scores another big winner with Perfect Together. An ensemble of fabulous characters, smart and often very funny dialogue, fine pacing and some great comedic scenes is an expert combination that will often have you laughing out loud and smiling long after you turn the last page." --Bookloons "Plumley is becoming a master at blending silly and poignant. She hits all the marks with 'Perfect Together!'"--The Oakland Press newspaper "I enjoyed this book from beginning to end!" -- Romance and Friends "Lisa Plumley creates charming characters. Her books are a delight!" -- USA Today best-selling author Rachel Gibson "Lisa Plumley is a comedic buried treasure! Screwball comedy with sizzle, Perfect Together blends laugh-out-loud antics and touching romance." --Romantic Times BOOKclub "Perfect Together is a perfectly spontaneous, perfectly fun fish-out-of-water splash!" -- Stephanie Bond, author of I Think I Love You

The Blaze of Obscurity

Unreliable Memoirs V

Author: Clive James

Publisher: Pan Macmillan

ISBN: 033051525X

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: N.A

View: 5049

DOWNLOAD NOW »
‘I was never alone except in the toilet, where I soon found that locking myself into a cubicle was not much protection from hearing myself talked about by young men standing at urinals. (“Jesus, he’s looking rough.” “And it’s only Monday.”) Reviews for Clive James’s fourth volume of memoirs, North Face of Soho, included several that specifically requested a further volume; Clive James duly obliged and here, in all its glory, is ‘Unreliable Memoirs V’, otherwise known as The Blaze of Obscurity. Perhaps his most brilliant book yet, The Blaze of Obscurity tells the inside story of his years in television: it shows Clive James on top form – both then and now. ‘In the case of many people who attempt an autobiography even a single volume is one too many . . . In the case of Clive James, the volumes now in existence are too few. If the final tally puts him up there with Marcel Proust, so much the better’ Financial Times

Marriage on the Rebound

Author: Michelle Reid

Publisher: Harlequin

ISBN: 1459262301

Category: Fiction

Page: 192

View: 9198

DOWNLOAD NOW »
Instant bridegroom… Shaan had been jilted! She'd been left at the altar by Piers Danvers…but Rafe Danvers was waiting to step right into his half brother's shoes. Older, darker, stronger and the head of the Danvers business empire, it was Rafe who had persuaded Piers to abandon Shaan. Now, with the same ruthless determination, Rafe insisted that she become his bride instead. Dazed, Shaan accepted his proposal, but she was also confused: until this moment, Rafe had acted as if he despised her. Suddenly he wanted to proclaim her to the world as his wife and, behind closed doors, to have her in his bed!

Harper's New Monthly Magazine

Author: Henry Mills Alden

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: American literature

Page: N.A

View: 3410

DOWNLOAD NOW »
Harper's informs a diverse body of readers of cultural, business, political, literary and scientific affairs.

Baby, It's Cold Outside

Blame It on the Blizzard\Deep Freeze\Melting Point

Author: Jennifer Greene,Merline Lovelace,Cindi Myers

Publisher: Harlequin

ISBN: 9781426846793

Category: Fiction

Page: 304

View: 3363

DOWNLOAD NOW »
The best way to keep warm… when the weather turns cold: 1) Seek shelter Opting to spend the holidays in solitude, Emilie Sutherland has found the perfect place: a hunting lodge in Alaska! But when a hunky stranger comes seeking shelter during a blizzard, Emilie wonders if maybe isolation is overrated, after all…. 2) Build a cozy fire Nothing ruins an adventure to Antarctica like being stranded on a lifeboat! But when a hot Air Force pilot rescues Mia Harrelson, she wonders if she's escaped the danger of freezing only to lose herself in the sexy fire of his eyes…. 3) Curl up with a nice, hot male… She is a consummate professional. Until Stacy Bristol finds herself working on a series of photo shoots with a gorgeous Viking—er, Olympic skier. But the minute his shirt comes off, Stacy is torn between icy professional resolve…and her melting knees!

Pride Of Walworth

Author: Mary Jane Staples

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 1446488292

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 8582

DOWNLOAD NOW »
There was a new family in Browning Street, Walworth - the Harrisons. Respectable and well-behaved, the only thing unusual about them was that Mr Harrison was never there. He was a sailor, said Ma Harrison, away fighting pirates in the China Seas. Actually, 'Knocker' Harrison was in Marsham Gaol - he had unfortunately burgled a lady's suite when she happened to be there. Pa wasn't really a very good burglar. When young Nick Harrison, eldest son and heir of Ma and Knocker, met Annabelle Somers he found himself in a very difficult situation. For seventeen-year-old Annabelle was a peach of a girl, was related to the highly respectable Adams family, and was really quite keen on Nick, very interested in him and in his family. What with keeping Annabelle at arm's length in case she found out about Pa, and with the problems of running the Browning Street Rovers football team (the ball was owned by Chrissie Evans who laid down her own rules about the team) Nick sometimes wondered if his life would ever be sorted out.

Waiting for Daisy

The True Story of One Couple's Quest to Have a Baby

Author: Peggy Orenstein

Publisher: A&C Black

ISBN: 1408820811

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 240

View: 5803

DOWNLOAD NOW »
Buffeted by one jaw-dropping obstacle after another, Orenstein seeks answers both medical and spiritual, all the while trying to save a marriage threatened by cycles, appointments, procedures, and disappointments. Her journey takes her around America and as far as East Asia - on the way she visits an ex-boyfriend who now has fifteen children; encounters 'parasite singles' in Tokyo, women who are rejecting marriage and motherhood in favour of shopping sprees and foreign travel; and shares stories with survivors of the atomic bomb in Hiroshima. The world's professional women are only now beginning to become aware of the risks and realities of 'having it all', and Orenstein's saga unfolds as infertility is developing into a boom industry, with over a million women a year seeking treatment. Waiting for Daisy is a profoundly honest, wryly funny report from the front, a story about doing all the things you swore you'd never do to get something you hadn't even been sure you wanted; it's about being a woman, about trying to become a mother, and above all, about the ambivalence, obsession and sacrifice that characterises the struggles of so many modern couples.