Cheat Sheets

Author: Edward O'Dwyer

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN: 1925536602

Category:

Page: 154

View: 424

DOWNLOAD NOW »
108 stories of infidelity ""Disturbingly knowing and knowingly disturbing, Edward O'Dwyer comes at his delicate subject matter with a playful and razor eye. These are shards that insist on being read, and then read again."" Alan McMonagle, author of 'Psychotic Episodes' and 'Ithaca' ""Cheat Sheets (is) an astonishing collection of vignettes about life, love, lust and relationships, which are jaw-droppingly hilarious, tender, strange, potent and weirdly charming--all at the same time. I laughed out loud in public too many times, the laughs often interrupted with sharp intakes of breath, as stories took outrageously i-didn't-see-that-coming turns. If I have any advice for readers when they sit down with this collection, it is this: pace yourself. Like a packet of Nestlé's Rolos or a family size packet of salt & vinegar crisps, you won't want these stories to end."" Ali Whitelock, author of 'and my heart crumples like a coke can' and 'Poking seaweed with a stick and running away from the smell'

Casanegra

A Tennyson Hardwick Story

Author: Blair Underwood

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 9781416546399

Category: Fiction

Page: 320

View: 2716

DOWNLOAD NOW »
Casanegra follows the adventures of Tennyson Hardwick, a gorgeous, sexy actor and former gigolo, living on the fringes of the good life in Hollywood. This story, which chronicles the redemption of a prodigal son, combines the glamour of Hollywood with the seedy hopelessness of the inner city. In this hot and steamy mystery, Tennyson struggles to hang on to his acting career and redeem his sex-for-pay history, which estranged him from his family -- especially his father, a decorated LAPD captain who raised Tennyson to call him "sir." Now, in the wake of his father's sudden stroke, Tennyson has to save himself from taking the fall for the first murder of a female rapper. In the process he discovers his hidden talents -- the hard way.

Shiver

Author: Karen Robards

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 144476716X

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 9653

DOWNLOAD NOW »
When she swore off love, he was the last man she imagined would steal her heart. If driving a tow truck through the seediest part of town with a gun beside her means putting a roof over her son's head, then single mother Samantha is going to be the best repossession woman on the books. But when she hooks her truck up to a flashy BMW, the last thing she expects is to find a beaten, bloody man in the trunk - or to be catapulted into a terrifying fight to survive. Daniel knows the drug runners who kidnapped him from protective custody will stop at nothing to see him dead. With his life on the line, his only option is to take his pretty saviour hostage and force her to help him. Sam and her four-year-old son are in too deep. With ruthless killers on their trail, she must reluctantly trust this handsome, menacing stranger. And as Sam relinquishes control, she feels an unmistakable desire. But what is the price of falling for a man who operates on the edge of danger - her heart, her life . . . or both?

Dancing With the Virgins

A Cooper & Fry Mystery

Author: Stephen Booth

Publisher: Harper Collins

ISBN: 0062302019

Category: Fiction

Page: 592

View: 4131

DOWNLOAD NOW »
Dancing With the Virgins is an atmospheric, psychological stunner—perfect for fans of Ian Rankin and Peter Robinson. As winter closes in on the moors, so does death. The body of a young woman is found within a ring of ancient cairns, her arms and legs arranged to look as though she's dancing. Now another young woman has been found, savagely wounded and severely traumatized, but alive. Ben Cooper and Diane Fry must unlock the memories trapped inside her mind before more blood is shed amongst the stones . . .

Nightmares of Caitlin Lockyer

Author: Demelza Carlton

Publisher: Lost Plot Press

ISBN: N.A

Category:

Page: 350

View: 5968

DOWNLOAD NOW »
Six months ago, Nathan's sister was brutally murdered. Now the former playboy desires only one thing: revenge. Late at night, Nathan trudges down the beach where his sister's body was found. He's searching for answers, but all he finds is a new nightmare: another girl's tortured body. Only this one isn't dead . . . yet. The unlikely hero becomes the prime suspect. Saving Caitlin's life was just the start. Nathan must win her trust and unlock the memories hidden in her nightmares to find out who's really responsible . . .before it's too late. A tiny taste of what's in store: "Stay away from her, Nathan. That girl isn't good for you." Stay away from her? I'd go crazy with worry in a day. "You don't know her." Chris looked grim. "Neither do you. Is there anything you wouldn't do for her?" "Yes," I snapped. "I wouldn't die for her." Chris turned around to stare at me, her mouth hanging open. "Do you want to know why?" I asked steadily. "I wouldn't die for her because I wouldn't be able to protect her any more. What if I missed one of the people who hurt her? I couldn't take that risk. She's too important." Nightmares Trilogy Dark, disturbing and definitely scary - Nightmares of Caitlin Lockyer is the first book in Demelza Carlton's Nightmares Trilogy. The reading order for the Trilogy is: Nightmares of Caitlin Lockyer (#1) Necessary Evil of Nathan Miller (#2) Afterlife of Alanna Miller (#3) Keywords: new adult, vigilante justice, crime fiction, psychological thriller, kidnapping crime fiction, crime thriller, vengeful mystery series, international crime, terrorism, counter-terrorism, dark kidnapping romance, abduction, recovery after rape, post traumatic stress disorder, PTSD, Western Australia, free book, free novel, vigilante justice series, free terrorism thrillers, psychological thriller romance,free psychological thriller mystery and suspense, kidnapped romance

Dead Girl Moon

A Slaughter Chronicles Novella

Author: Jessica Halsey

Publisher: Jessica Halsey

ISBN: 173203673X

Category: Fiction

Page: N.A

View: 4237

DOWNLOAD NOW »
In a world full of unseen demons, a werewolf is just another monster. When Regina’s father accidentally bites and contaminates his daughter, he starts her down a path very different from the life her mother planned for her. Life in prison is hard but what do you do when you’re an 11-year-old wolf girl? Regina Slaughter was, according to police reports, the victim of a brutal murder. In reality she became the property of HADES, a mercurial mercenary company dedicated to wiping out the supernatural menace. Good always triumphs over evil, right? Not when evil locks you in a cage and does everything it can to destroy you. When Regina’s best friend Tiffany, another werewolf and an innocent victim of HADES, goes missing she will do everything she can to find her. Disclaimer: This book contains detailed descriptions of violence and gore, mature themes such as death and disregard for personal autonomy, and mature language. Reader discretion is advised.

The Buy Side

A Wall Street Trader's Tale of Spectacular Excess

Author: Turney Duff

Publisher: Crown Business

ISBN: 0770437168

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 320

View: 5530

DOWNLOAD NOW »
New York Times Bestseller The Buy Side, by former Galleon Group trader Turney Duff, portrays an after-hours Wall Street culture where drugs and sex are rampant and billions in trading commissions flow to those who dangle the most enticements. A remarkable writing debut, filled with indelible moments, The Buy Side shows as no book ever has the rewards – and dizzying temptations – of making a living on the Street. Growing up in the 1980’s Turney Duff was your average kid from Kennebunk, Maine, eager to expand his horizons. After trying – and failing – to land a job as a journalist, he secured a trainee position at Morgan Stanley and got his first feel for the pecking order that exists in the trading pits. Those on the “buy side,” the traders who make large bets on whether a stock will rise or fall, are the “alphas” and those on the “sell side,” the brokers who handle their business, are eager to please. How eager to please was brought home stunningly to Turney in 1999 when he arrived at the Galleon Group, a colossal hedge-fund management firm run by secretive founder Raj Rajaratnam. Finally in a position to trade on his own, Turney was encouraged to socialize with the sell side and siphon from his new broker friends as much information as possible. Soon he was not just vacuuming up valuable tips but also being lured into a variety of hedonistic pursuits. Naïve enough to believe he could keep up the lifestyle without paying a price, he managed to keep an eye on his buy-and-sell charts and, meanwhile, pondered the strange goings on at Galleon, where tens of millions were being made each week in sometimes mysterious ways. At his next positions, at Argus Partners and J.L. Berkowitz, Turney climbed to even higher heights – and, as it turned out, plummeted to even lower depths – as, by day, he solidified his reputation one of the Street’s most powerful healthcare traders, and by night, he blazed a path through the city’s nightclubs, showing off his social genius and voraciously inhaling any drug that would fill the void he felt inside. A mesmerizingly immersive journey through Wall Street’s first millennial decade, and a poignant self portrait by a young man who surely would have destroyed himself were it not for his decision to walk away from a seven-figure annual income, The Buy Side is one of the best coming-of-age-on-the-Street books ever written. From the Hardcover edition.

Your Name Shall be Tanga

Author: Calixthe Beyala

Publisher: Heinemann Educational Books

ISBN: N.A

Category: Fiction

Page: 137

View: 6229

DOWNLOAD NOW »
Calixthe Beyala underlines the solidarity that unites women across racial, religious, class and national lines in this novel about a young woman dying in a West African prison cell.

Predator One

A Joe Ledger Novel

Author: Jonathan Maberry

Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin

ISBN: 1250033446

Category: Fiction

Page: 480

View: 700

DOWNLOAD NOW »
On opening day of the new baseball season a small model-kit airplane flies down from the stands and buzzes the mound, where a decorated veteran pilot is about to throw out the first ball. The toy plane is the exact replica of the one flown by the war hero. Everyone laughs, thinking it's a prank or a publicity stunt. Until it explodes, killing dozens. Seconds later a swarm of killer drones descend upon the picnicked crowd, each one carrying a powerful bomb. All across the country artificial intelligence drive systems in cars, commuter trains and even fighter planes go out of control. The death toll soars as the machines we depend upon every day are turned into engines of destruction. Joe Ledger and the Department of Military Sciences go on the hunt for whoever is controlling these machines, but the every step of the way they are met with traps and shocks that strike to the very heart of the DMS. No one is safe. Nowhere is safe. Enemies old and new rise as America burns. Joe Ledger and his team are back in Jonathan Maberry's seventh book in the series. They begin a desperate search for the secret to this new technology and the madmen behind it. But before they can close in the enemy virus infects Air Force One. The president is trapped aboard as the jet heads toward the heart of New York City. It has become PREDATOR ONE.